Join/Renew Now

Latest news

USATF announces Pan Am Games roster


INDIANAPOLIS – Athletes with World Championships and Olympic experience, and a core group of young talent, will lead Team USA into the 2011 Pan American Games slated to be held October 24-29 in Guadalajara, Mexico.
Fourteen 2011 World Championships team members are on the 90-person Team USA roster for the Pan Am Games. The roster consists of 46 men and 44 women.
The men’s team for the Pan American Games includes five field-event athletes who made the trip to  World Outdoors in Daegu, South Korea. It includes reigning USA Outdoor hammer throw champion Kibwe Johnson, who will be making his second appearance at the Pan Am Games and placed second in 2007; 2011 USA Outdoors discus champion and 2008 Olympic Trials champion Jarred Rome;  2011 USA hammer throw runner-up Michael Mai; two-time USA discus runner-up Jason Young; and 2009 USA Indoor pole vault champion Jeremy Scott. On the track, World Outdoor 4x400m gold medalist Michael Berry will compete in the open 400. In Daegu, Berry clocked a split of 43.83 in the first round of the relay. Although he did not compete in the final, Berry’s split was the fastest of the Championships for Team USA.
The women’s team is led by two-time  (‘99, ‘03) Pan Am  Games gold medalist  and three-time Olympian Aretha Thurmond in the discus and  2008 Olympic Games silver medalist and 2008 World Indoor silver medalist Jenn Suhr in the pole vault.  Suhr is the American indoor and outdoor record holder and currently owns five USA Outdoor and five USA Indoor titles.

Thurmond and Suhr both competed in Daegu. In Guadalajara they will be joined by  several World Outdoor teammates: three-time USA Outdoor champion and the 2003 Pan American Junior gold medalist Michelle Carter in the shot put; four-time USA Outdoor runner-up and 2010 USA  champion Amber Campbell in the hammer throw; 2008 NCAA Outdoor shot put champion Sarah Stevens-Walker; 2010 and 2011 USA Outdoor 20km RW champion Maria Michta; 2010 USA Outdoor discus runner-up Gia Lewis-Smallwood; and 2010 PAC-10 Outdoor high jump champion Inika Mcpherson.
Cliff Rovelto is the men’s head coach and Angie Taylor is women’s head coach. Team managers are  Manny Bautista and Kim Keenan-Kirkpatrick.
For updates on the 2011 Pan American Games continue to check

Team USA Roster – 2011 Pan American Games
Men’s Roster
100m: Monzavous “Rae” Edwards, Calesio Newman
200m: Perrison (Deun) White, Newman
400m: Michael Berry, Bryan Miller
110mH: Jeffrey Porter, Dominic Berger
400mH: Reuben Mccoy, Lee Moore
800m: Tyler Mulder, Mark Wieczorek
1500m: William Leer, AJ Acosta
3000m SC: Derek Scott, Donald Cowart
5000m: Brandon Bethke, Stephen Furst
10,000m: Ryan Vail, James Strang
20km RW: John Nunn, Michael Giuseppe Mannozzi
HT: Kibwe Johnson, Michael Mai
DT: Jarred Rome, Jason Young
JT: Sean Furey, Cyrus Hostetler
SP: Noah Bryant, Russ Winger
PV: Jeremy Scott, Nick Mossberg
HJ: Jamie Nieto, Jim Dilling
TJ: Chris Carter, Zedric Thomas
LJ: Jeremy Hicks, Randall Flimmons
Decathlon: Mark Jellison, Matthew Johnson
Marathon: Jeffrey Eggleston, Patrick Rizzo
50km RW: Ben Shorey, Dave Talcott
4x100m: Rubin Williams
4x400m: Josh Scott
Women’s Roster
100m: Kenyanna Wilson, Barbara Pierre
200m: Stephanie Durst, Leslie Cole
400m: Leslie Cole, Jessica Cousins
100mH: Virginia “Ginnie” Crawford, Nia Ali
400mH: MacKenzie Hill, Takecia Jameson
800m: Lea Wallace, Heather Kampf
1500m: Jackie Areson, Lamar Annick
3000m SC: Sara Hall, Mason Cathey
5000m: Neely Spence, Kim Conley
10000m: Anne Bersagel, Cassandra Slade
20km RW: Maria Michta, Lauren Forgue
HT: Amber Campbell, Keelin Godsey
DT: Aretha Thurmond, Gia Lewis-Smallwood
JT: Alicia DeShasier, Avione Allgood
SP: Michelle Carter, Sarah Stevens-Walker
PV: Jennifer Suhr, April Bennett
HJ: Inika Mcpherson, Deirdre Mullen
TJ: Crystal Manning, Yvette Lewis
LJ: Tori Polk, Shameka Marshall
Heptathlon: Bridgette Ingram
Marathon: Heidi Westover, Brett Ely
4x100m: Consuella Moore, Chastity Riggien
4x400m: Ciara Short

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.