Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Team USA Bound For World 24-Hour Run Championships

INDIANAPOLIS - USA Track & Field has announced a 12-member squad that will represent the U.S. at the IAU World 24-Hour Run Championships in Katowice, Poland on September 8-9, 2012.

Leading the six-member women’s team into the International  Association of Ultrarunners event will be long-time U.S. ultra-star Anne Lundblad of Swannanoa, N.C.  At the 100 km distance Lundblad won the individual silver medal at the 2005 World Championships while leading Team USA to the women’s team gold medal.  She recorded her current 24-hour PR (140.26 miles) this past New Year’s Eve at the Freedom Park Ultra. This will be Lundblad’s maiden attempt in the World 24-Hour Championships.

Adding greatly to the ladies team strength is Connie Gardner (Medina, Ohio).  A multi-time USA ultra running champion at distances from 50-miles up, Gardner is one of America’s most consistent and internationally-competitive 24-hour runners. Rounding out the Women’s Team are, Debra Horn (Shaker Heights, Ohio), who is making her fifth team appearance at the World Championships, Lana Haugberg (Brooklyn Park, Minn.), past USA National 24-hour team member Suzanna Bon (Sonoma, Calif.) and Carilyn Johnson (El Paso, Texas) who posted a PR distance of 130.92 miles in 2011.

The Men’s six-member squad is led by Mike Morton (Lithia, Fla.).  Morton, who won the Western States 100 Mile in the 1997, has returned to international prominence posting a stunning 163.9 mile 24-hour performance in 2011 and bolstering that eye-opening mark with a win at the 2012 Badwater 135 mile foot race through Death Valley.  This is Morton’s first appearance at the World 24-Hour Championships.

Returning USA 24-Hour National Team members Serge Arbona (Parkville, Md.) and New York’s multi-day star Philip McCarthy bring great experience and depth to the team.  Arbona , who owns a PR of 156.5 miles, was a scorer on the 2010 team that brought home the team bronze medal from France.  McCarthy, the American Record Holder at 48-hours, won the 2011 USA 24-Hour Championships and owns a lifetime best of 154.48 miles.  

Also sporting USA National Team singlets in Poland, will be Jonathan Savage (Charlotte, N.C.), who is a 146-mile performer, Joe Fejes (Hoschton,  Ga. ) who posted a 142 mile effort at the 2012 North Coast 24-Hour Competition, and Harvey Lewis (Cincinnati, Ohio), the 2012 FANS 24-Hour winner with a mark of 142.86 miles.

The national team will be managed by Tania Pacev (team leader), Mike Spinnler (assistant team leader) and Dr. Mike Connor (team physician). 

More information on the IAU World 24-hour Run Championships can be found at:

Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.