Join/Renew Now

H. Browning Ross Long Distance Running Merit Award

This award is given annually to that individual who has made an outstanding contribution and/or has been of serv ice to the sport of long distance running. It was named in honor of the founder of the AAU LDR committee and the Road Runners Club of America, as well as the first recipient of the award in 1969.

2010 Virginia Brophy Achman
2009 Jack Daniels
2008 Bob Sevene
2007 Don Kardong
2006 Joe Newton
2005 Bob Larsen
2004 Mark Winitz
2003 Creigh Kelley, Fred Finke
2002 Dan Brown
2001 Joe Vigil
2000 Vin Lananna
1999 Mike Scott
1998 Alvin Chriss
1997 Bob Wood
1996 Don King
1995 Doug Aldred
1994 Phil Stewart
1993 George Sheehan
1992 Doug Thurston
1991 John Mansoor
1990 Basil Honikman
1989 Jeff Darman
1988 Don Kardong
1987 Allan Steinfeld
1986 Bill Roe
1985 Kenneth Young
1984 Vince Chiappetta
1983 Fred Lebow
1982 David E. Martin
1981 Will Cloney
1980 Norman Brand
1979 Stanley Stafford
1978 Anthony Diamond
1977 Joseph Kleineman
1976 John Brennand
1975 Harold Canfield
1974 Aldo M. Scandurra
1973 Robert E. DeCelle
1972 Frank Shorter
1971 Ted Corbitt
1970 Robert S. Campbell
Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec