Join/Renew Now

Cross Country Athletes of the Year

Formerly the Cross Country Merit Award, this award was established to honor the Outstanding Male and Female Cross Country Runners.

Year Male Winner Female Winner
2010 Patrick Smyth Shalane Flanagan
2009 German Fernandez Nealy Spence
2008 Jorge Torres Shalane Flanagan
2005 Jorge Torres Lauren Fleshman
2004 Robert Gary Shalane Flanagan
2003 Meb Keflezighi Deena Drossin Kastor
2002 Abdi Abdirahman, Jorge Torres "World Cross Country Championships 8 km silver medal team" - Deena Drossin, Colleen De Reuck, Jen Rhines, Milena Glusac, Amy Rudolph and Elva Dryer
2001 "Medalists from the 2001 WC" - Meb Keflezighi, Bob Kennedy, Abdi Abdirahman, Matt Downin, Nick Rogers, and Greg Jimmerson; Dathan Ritzenhein Deena Drossin


Year Winner
2000 Adam Goucher
1999 Adam Goucher
1998 Bob Kennedy
1997 Rueben Reina
1996 Brad Barquist
1995 Todd Williams
1994 Bob Kennedy
1993 Todd Williams
1992 Todd Williams
1991 Pat Porter
1990 Pat Porter


Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2017 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.