Join/Renew Now

Jesse Owens Award

Established in 1981, The Jesse Owens Award is USA Track & Field's highest accolade, presented annually to the outstanding U.S. male and female track & field performers.

Note: The Women’s Athlete of the Year award was renamed the Jackie Joyner-Kersee Award in 2013. Click here for Jackie Joyner-Kersee award recipients.

Year Male Winner Female Winner
2013 LaShawn Merritt    ------------
2012 Ashton Eaton Allyson Felix
2011 Jesse Williams Carmelita Jeter
2010 David Oliver Allyson Felix
2009 Tyson Gay Sanya Richards
2008 Bryan Clay Stephanie Brown Trafton
2007 Tyson Gay Allyson Felix
2006 Jeremy Wariner Sanya Richards
2005 Justin Gatlin Allyson Felix
2004 Justin Gatlin Joanna Hayes
2003 Tom Pappas Deena Drossin Kastor
2002 Khalid Khannouhi Deena Drossin
2001 John Godina Stacy Dragila
2000 Angelo Taylor Stacy Dragila
1999 Maurice Greene Inger Miller
1998 John Godina Marion Jones
1997 Allen Johnson Marion Jones
1996 Michael Johnson Gail Devers

Year Winner
1995 Michael Johnson
1994 Michael Johnson
1993 Gail Devers
1992 Kevin Young
1991 Carl Lewis
1990 Lynn Jennings
1989 Roger Kingdom
1988 Florence Griffith Joyner
1987 Jackie Joyner-Kersee
1986 Jackie Joyner-Kersee
1985 Willie Banks
1984 Joan Benoit
1983 Mary Decker
1982 Carl Lewis
1981 Edwin Moses


Nike Hershey Visa BMW Gatorade Gill Athletics Pheonix St. Vincent Lynx
© 2001-2014 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
To license USATF video footage go to or