Join/Renew Now

Reviews for: Chilly Half Marathon

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Nedim on 11/9/2015 9:29:43 AM
Nice course, great race! Rolling hills mostly going down for the first 6 miles. I suggest running that part conservatively, since the hilly part is challenging. Major hills (from memory) at 6, 6.5, 7.1 and 8 miles, with a couple of short punches in-between, followed by a nice and fast downhill. For good measure, you will have another uphill in the last mile and then a fast sprint downhill into the chute. Loved it, but don't count on PR's.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Greg P. on 11/8/2015 9:21:59 AM
This is a wonderful race with a beautiful and challenging course through some scenic Newton neighborhoods. Fun to run DOWN Heartbreak Hill. :-) The race is so well done. A great New England Fall half, one of the best.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Jim on 11/14/2011 10:22:20 AM
That was an extremely well run and fun race. I loved it!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Fred on 11/13/2011 11:21:24 AM
Very challenging course. Tons of hills starting at mile 6 but you've got to love the benefit of cruising down hill after 8 miles. Looking forward to next year!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: bosgear on 11/13/2011 10:40:50 AM
Very well run event today. Plenty of restrooms, waterbreaks. Yes, there are hills...but that's no surprise and is half the fun. This was my first Chilly. I will definitely be back again. Very professional.

by: chilly half runner on 10/29/2011 5:50:10 AM
Why is this race called the Chilly Half and not the "Hilly Half Marathon"?! ;)

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Rob on 10/17/2011 12:01:33 PM
The poor people of Newton have to endure a few hundred runners? OH the shame of it all!!! Ran the race in 2010, coming back for 2011. Tough but fun route and didn't see one resident with hatred in his veins (a few were cheering actually!)

by: Runner on 10/9/2011 10:04:46 AM
Why are we running through quiet neighborhoods early on Sunday? My friend lives nearby and hated the noise, traffic, and parked cars blocking streets. Can't say I blame him for trampling his front yard.

by: Arthur Grillo on 10/8/2011 7:52:47 PM
Growing up in Newton and running the roads or Newton for over 35 years and being arace Director. There are much better senic roads with less traffic,that you could have selected. With that said I will still run the race.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Mary on 11/16/2010 6:58:21 AM
Great run! Very well organized, easy parking, nice to have indoor access to the HS. Agree that more port-o-potties would be a plus. The course definitely had some challenging hills but the pay back on the down hills is huge. It's very nice to run down part of the Heartbreak Hills! I'll absolutely be back. Thanks for a great event.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Mary on 11/16/2010 6:58:11 AM
Great run! Very well organized, easy parking, nice to have indoor access to the HS. Agree that more port-o-potties would be a plus. The course definitely had some challenging hills but the pay back on the down hills is huge. It's very nice to run down part of the Heartbreak Hills! I'll absolutely be back. Thanks for a great event.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: David on 11/15/2010 7:42:56 AM
Ran the 2010 edition yesterday and really enjoyed the course. Nice route through quiet neighborhoods - challenging hills but nice downhills too. Great volunteers and police support. Need more port-o-potties at the start!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Stephanie on 10/27/2010 5:03:11 AM
I think the hill Peter E. is referencing would be the mini heart break hill of Boston... I turned the corner and was like come on you've GOT to be kidding me, but the race was well organized and a scenic route for a fall 1/2 mara!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Dave on 9/30/2010 11:46:44 AM
Ran it last year, my first Half Marathon. Would agree with others lots of hills. Was a challenge but enjoyed running it. Loved it so much, signed up for it again this year!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Peter E. on 9/12/2010 7:11:22 PM
Ran it last year. Great race organization. Some hills at the start, then some more between miles 6-8. One more after mile 12, just when you don't want another. Tough course; demands hill training.

by: Doug on 5/11/2010 12:52:35 PM
The above reviews are dead on. This was a tough 1/2 marathon. I thought it was me?...because it was my first 1/2 marathon. Nice race though....Run the hills to train...

Rating: route rating indicator
by: M on 2/6/2010 2:21:42 PM
Tough course, but loved every minute of it. Ran through beautiful neighborhoods and for a small, new race had great water stations and goody bags as well. Would definitely run again, just train on hills first!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: M on 2/6/2010 2:21:39 PM
Tough course, but loved every minute of it. Ran through beautiful neighborhoods and for a small, new race had great water stations and goody bags as well. Would definitely run again, just train on hills first!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: D on 11/18/2009 10:45:20 AM
This is a really hilly and tough route. Totally unexpected from the description. It was indeed relatively flat through 4 and 5 miles. However, the hills started soon after that and just kept on coming, one after another after another. The finish is relatively downhill and flat but this is not until mile 10 or so. This is definitely a race that will test your quads to the max!

Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec