Join/Renew Now

Reviews for: Santa Cruz Half Marathon

Rating: route rating indicator
by: GSmom on 1/24/2015 6:40:05 PM
Very pretty route. Nice mix of road and trail. Mostly flat with exception of one hill climb out of Wilder Ranch...short, but kind of a kicker of a hill too! I enjoyed the laid back feeling of the race. Not the most organized, but it really doesn't need to be. Last year's weather was perfect for running. Overcast and mild. This route would be terrible in heat or wind!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: BHO on 4/7/2013 8:48:01 PM
This run was great. Combination of paved road and dirt trail. Trail is used for horses so beware of that- views were gorgeous and weather was perfect.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: solorunner on 2/20/2011 10:59:00 PM
I love this race! Rain or Shine, the beautiful course along the cliff is a sight to see,the calm seas in the dead heat but just as amazing seeing the Ocean waves crash as if the gods were pissed off. I am great full for all the volunteers who were still out there wait for us to finish.. Smiles and cheers even in the rain..

Rating: route rating indicator
by: runner on 5/9/2010 11:37:14 PM
beautiful view around mile 7. a little boring until then. dont run it if theres expected to be bad weather. miserable if its windy and raining!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: FeetDragger on 4/12/2010 2:26:53 PM
Beautiful Course rain or shine... Huge difference from last year when people were having heatstrokes, this year was hypothermic-LOL! The rain and wind was brutal at the end. Cheers to all the volunteers who I know were colder just standing there the whole time- Thank You!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: anon on 4/12/2010 1:48:12 PM
The high winds were brutal for 2010. Beautiful course along the ocean. 4 mi paved, 5 mi trail, 4 mi paved. Narrow trail a bit muddy and little rocks and some horse landmines, not too bad. The course is anything but flat, I don't understand the other reviews, maybe they run mountains all day or something. However if the weather alert says 30-40 mph sustained winds with 60 mph gusts next year, I may consider skipping out. Hoping for nicer weather next year. The results WERE online immediately if you knew where to look. It just took a few hours before Santa Cruz actually linked their website to the results. One minor nitpick -- the 10K and the half marathoners got the same medal imprinted with "10K and half marathon", kinda cheesy IMHO. I accidentally missed grabbing my free t-shirt at the end. Crowd to the front if you have a decent pace. It's a mob stampede start!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: DingoEatingBabies on 4/12/2010 9:16:34 AM
I'd recommend that at the start of the race, there should be signs that help people line up according to their minute/mile pace. I found myself passing WALKERS in the first mile! I estimated that I'd be running a 8:30/mile pace and got in the middle of the pack. Also, much of the course is quite narrow, making it difficult for runners to pass others safely. Beautiful course...OMFG. Mostly flat with a few climbs and descents that charm other muscle areas nicely. Nice staff/volunteers...will try this race again.

by: first time at this place running on 4/11/2010 10:29:07 PM
ok this race is so unorganized because i been wanting to see my results but still not posted on the web. they said it will be up right after the event but still not posted :(

Rating: route rating indicator
by: avid runner on 4/11/2010 10:24:49 PM
this run was brutal with the wind, hills and such but i feel great afterwards! i will do it again....

Rating: route rating indicator
by: First Timer on 4/11/2010 1:55:58 PM
Just did this today for the first time. I thought it was a very well organized race. The people were very friendly and there was a good vibe. I'll do this one again for sure.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: S. on 4/9/2010 2:26:49 PM
This route is awesome. The finish on the sand is an awesome (and rather unique) idea that separates this from other races. Strollers and dog walkers on the other hand need to MOVE OUT THE WAY.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: SC Halfer on 3/2/2010 1:57:25 PM
Fun Route. Good view. Poorly organized. Many strollers and dogs on the return leg last year. Agree that finish on the sand is insane.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: oldie but goodie on 2/26/2010 5:50:27 PM
I like this race - we are walkers. The past two years the weather was beautiful. We would rather race on Saturday instead of Sunday as we have a 2 hour drive home right after the race. Last year walking down the sandy ramp to the beach was a little daunting because of the fear of slipping. We'll do this race again!

by: MMeder on 4/20/2009 5:19:54 PM
As a first time organized run participant, I was disappointed to find that there were no longer t-shirts left in the size I had specified when I registered. Why even ask participants to give t-shirt size information if it doesn't make any difference. I know that other runs often put the appropriate shirt in the registration envelope. Now I have a shirt I will never wear, and nothing to show for this once in a lifetime (for me!) event. I thought everything else about the race was great....water, gels, volunteers, etc.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Run Forrest Run on 4/19/2009 8:35:12 PM
Beautiful course, but this was the most poorly organized race I've participated in. Too crowded, terrible directions at the start. 10K racers were in the wrong start line. Baby strollers 2 wide on the last 3 miles, no room. Police couldn't decide whether the road was open or closed. Finishing in the sand was ridiculous, there were two mats and you couldn't tell which one was the finish line. I'll run this course on my own next time -- I can't believe for the 8th annual race they haven't figure this stuff out by now. On the good side, volunteers were great and there was plenty of food at the end of the race.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Run Forrest Run on 4/19/2009 8:35:06 PM
Beautiful course, but this was the most poorly organized race I've participated in. Too crowded, terrible directions at the start. 10K racers were in the wrong start line. Baby strollers 2 wide on the last 3 miles, no room. Police couldn't decide whether the road was open or closed. Finishing in the sand was ridiculous, there were two mats and you couldn't tell which one was the finish line. I'll run this course on my own next time -- I can't believe for the 8th annual race they haven't figure this stuff out by now. On the good side, volunteers were great and there was plenty of food at the end of the race.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: DGRunner on 4/19/2009 5:23:27 PM
I just ran this race today and it was a beautiful day for it. It was crowded, but most organized races are. I agree about the ugly medal, but it was a good time and a great way to spend a Sunday morning.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Run to Eat on 4/19/2009 2:33:00 PM
The course itself isn't bad, but put 1500 runners on the course and it's a nightmare. The narrow trails are way too small to accommodate the mass of runners, you need to weave and bob like nobody's business which can easily throw you into a dirt divot and cause havoc on your ankles. Do this run on your own and forgot the organized Half Marathon where you get NOTHING but a crappy t-shirt and ugly medal.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: fuckshit on 4/14/2009 3:29:51 PM
FUCKINGSHITFUCK!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Lisa on 4/30/2008 7:10:58 PM
I really enjoyed this race but gave the route a silver instead of gold because I didn't like finishing on the sand. After a long race, I had to run down a sandy concrete ramp then hit the sand. I was worried about twisting my ankle at the finish. I just don't think it's safe.

by: Dave on 4/16/2008 6:37:22 PM
What a way to do a runner wrong! They changed the race date and despite having my home address, my daytime AND evening phone numbers; the race failed to notify me, nor did they put up any flashing "URGENT" notices on their website that the race date had been changed! They allegedly sent mass e-mails, but apparently I was the "only" person who didn't get them?! I drove 200 miles one way, rented a hotel room that couldn't be cancelled, and trained for months, only to get to Santa Cruz at 11am on April 12 to discover the race was over! Since Sunday, and after two e-mails, I still haven't received any response from the event coordinator. Sure, great course, lovely views, lots of hydration points, IF you were lucky enough to be notified of the race date change...

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Sarah, San Jose on 4/14/2008 3:09:03 PM
This is a great course! The views are breathtaking and the terrain is fairly flat. It's a bit challenging if you're not used to hill running, but it's definitely worth the effort. Running down the hill to finish on the beach is also lovely. There were lots of water, electrolyte and gel stations, which was great because it warmed up very quickly in the 2008 run. Highly recommended!

Rating: route rating indicator
by: mary on 4/12/2008 5:54:36 PM
Did 9 half marathons last year and this is by far my favorite, despite the pitfalls. It's a nice, fast course, but if it's not your day (and today wasn't mine), then THIS is the place to take your time and enjoy the incredible scenery. Ocean, pelicans, whales, surfers, kayakers...I could go on and on.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Fred San Jose on 4/12/2008 5:30:14 PM
The course is gorgeous. Some rolling hills with couple of pitfalls: paved path and Trail. The pave path sprinkled with horse manure making the run like dodging visible landmines. The trail would be great if you were hiking - uneven and rocky in spots. I was on a PR until hitting the trail where I sprained my right ankle and stepped on a sharp rock with my left. End up run/walk my back the rest of the way. Will run again next year but with proper shoes.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Sammy T on 2/29/2008 2:28:32 PM
Awesome flat route. Loved the scenery.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: someone on 12/25/2007 7:39:51 PM
i like it

Rating: route rating indicator
by: SirBurpalot on 4/25/2007 9:31:40 PM
This couse was absolutely gorgeous as much of it is right along the Ocean. There are a couple of decent size hills with the one at the beginning of Mile 9 the toughest. The Old Cove Landing Trail (about 3 miles of the run) was quite muddy and forced us to run in single or double file.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: saileta on 4/22/2007 4:43:25 PM
just ran the 2007 half-marathon. the route is very easy with no challenges. would not recommend it to anyone planning to train for a full marathon. great views at points....

Rating: route rating indicator
by: bikrbab on 4/20/2007 10:27:15 PM
Great course, slow grades and some dirt roads. Warning!!Spectacular scenery may distract.It's a perfect run to get your feet wet for a marathon or good training run in preparation for San Diego Marathon.

Rating: route rating indicator
by: Arnon on 4/18/2007 2:46:31 PM
I ran it in the SC half 2005 and had to stop several times during the race to take pictures. There are spectacular views over the cliffs into the SC bay. It's mostly paved, partially dirt road, and nearly flat.

Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec