Cheseret named USATF Athlete of the Week


Tom Surber
Media Information Manager
USA Track & Field

INDIANAPOLIS - Former University of Arizona star Robert Cheseret (Colorado Springs, Colo.) has been named USA Track & Field's Athlete of the Week after winning his first U.S. road title Sunday at the 2010 USA 5 km Championships in Providence, R.I.

The younger brother of U.S. star middle distance runner Bernard Lagat, Cheseret won a very competitive men's race that saw a pack of six men passing two miles together in 9:01, with Aaron Braun(Flagstaff, Ariz.) and Ben Bruce (Eugene, Ore.) controlling the pace.

In making the final turn off of Memorial Drive and running up the only significant hill on the course, Bruce had a slight edge over Cheseret, Braun and Andy Biladeau (Charlottesville, Va.). Cresting the hill just after the three mile mark, Cheseret had one more gear, kicking by Bruce to win by two-tenths of a second, 14:00.00 to 14:00.20. Braun took third in 14:05 with Biladeau finishing fourth in 14:06. Kyle Alcorn (Mesa, Ariz.) rounded out the top five in 14:10.

Cheseret, who became a U.S. citizen in 2009, was the NCAA champion at 10,000 meters in 2005 finishing just ahead of two-time national 10,000m champion and 2008 Olympian Galen Rupp. Now in its ninth year, USATF's Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on the USATF website. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

Winners: January 13, Jen Clayton; January 20, Shalane Flanagan; January 27, Nolan Shaheed; February 3, Bernard Lagat; February 10, Bernard Lagat; February 17, Shalane Flanagan; February 24, Amber Campbell; March 3, Amber Campbell; March 10, Phil Raschker; March 17, Ashton Eaton; March 31, Lisa Koll; April 7, Queen Harrison; April 14, Magdalena Lewy Boulet; April 21, Bershawn Jackson; April 28, Phoebe Wright; May 5, Chris Solinsky; May 12, Walter Dix; May 26, Cory Martin; June 2, Chaunte Lowe; June 9, Bernard Lagat; June 16, Queen Harrison; June 30, Kara Patterson; July 7, David Oliver; July 22, David Oliver; July 28, Conor McCullough; August 4, Kennedy Blahnik; August 11, Tyson Gay; August 18, Allyson Felix; August 26, Robin Reynolds; September 1, Molly Huddle; September 8, Bernard Lagat; Kibwe Johnson; September 22, Robert Cheseret.