News & Notes, Volume 10, Number 8


Tom Surber
Media Information Manager
USA Track & Field

Gators, Ducks win NCAA D-I team titles

The University of Florida Gators and the University of Oregon Ducks were the respective men's and women's team winners at the 2010 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships Saturday at the Randal Tyson Track Center on the campus of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville.

The Gators had finished as the runner-up in this event in three of the last seven years and entered the weekend's competition as the #1 ranked team in the country. Coach Mike Holloway's squad won the school's first NCAA Indoor team title after Jeff Demps' gave them the lead with his win in the 60m final, followed by Christian Taylor's triumph in the triple jump. The Gators totaled 52 points in winning the team title with Texas A&M finishing as the runner-up with 34 points.

The competition was highlighted by the University of Oregon's Ashton Eaton setting the world record in the men's heptathlon with 6,499 points, which bettered 1996 Olympic gold medalist Dan O'Brien's previous standard of 6,476 points set in 1993. By comparison, over the weekend 2008 Olympic heptathlon gold medalist Bryan Clay won the heptathlon gold medal at the 2010 World Indoor Championships in Doha with 6,204 points, with 2009 World Outdoor Championships decathlon gold medalist Trey Hardee finishing in second place with 6,184 points.

The University of Oregon's women's team also won its first ever national indoor title in Fayetteville, with their total of 61 points. The Ducks were led by Brianne Theisen's win in the pentathlon and a victory by their 4x400m relay squad.

Ranked #1 in the country going into the championships, the Ducks finished ahead of defending champion Tennessee, who finished second with 36 points. The individual highlight of the women's competition was provided by Hampton University's Frencena McCorory, who won the 400m in a new American record time of 50.54 seconds, which bettered the 50.64 clocking by Diane Dixon from 1991.

Adams State, Lincoln win NCAA D-II team titles

St. Augustine's College came into the 2010 NCAA Division II Championships as the four-time defending men's champions, but Adams State's dominance in the 1,000 and 5,000m runs proved the difference between the two schools Saturday in Albuquerque, N.M.

Adams State tallied 89 points in wresting the team title from St. Augustine's, who finished second with 72 points, with Abilene Christian ending up in third place with 53 points. Adams State's triumph is even more impressive considering that St. Augustine's and Abilene Christian had combined to win the past 23 D-II championships.It was the defending-champion Lincoln Blue Tigers who raced to the women's title with 56 points, finishing just ahead of Ashland and Grand Valley, who tied for second place with 47 points. The three schools entered the final event of the competition, the 4x400m relay, separated by a mere three points. Lincoln, a school with no indoor facilities, won the 4x400m relay and the team title that came with it.

The individual women's competition was highlighted by Jessica Pixler of Seattle Pacific (Washington) who captured her fourth consecutive crown in the mile (4:46.42).

Brady clinches D-III men's team win for North Central College

Senior Kyle Brady finished his final indoor collegiate championship race in style by winning the men's 5,000m individual title that clinched the men's championship for North Central College Saturday at the 2010 NCAA Division III Indoor Championships in Greencastle, Ind.

North Central, which also won the men's 4x400m relay, captured the men's team crown with 52.3 points. Wisconsin-Stevens Point finished as the runner-up with 31.5 points, with Wisconsin-Oshkosh third with 31 points.

Wartburg College needed to finish either first or second in the 4x400m relay to secure the women's team crown, and they came through with the fastest D-III time this indoor season of 3:48.73 to win the race and the team title. Wartburg, which overcame a difficult first day, finished with 33 points in the women's meet, just ahead of Oshkosh (29). St. Lawrence (Canton, N.Y.) was next with 24 points, followed by Illinois Wesleyan (21) and the University of Chicago (21).

For more information on the 2010 NCAA Indoor Championships, including the complete results, visit: