Gay blazes meet record in AT&T men’s 100m at AT&T USA Outdoor champs


Jill Geer
Director of Communications
USA Track & Field

INDIANAPOLIS - Tyson Gay rewrote meet record books and showed why he is the hottest sprinter in the world by winning the AT&T men's 100 meters Friday at the AT&T USA Outdoor Track & Field Championships at Carroll Stadium at IUPUI.

The final meet of the 2007 Visa Championship Series, the AT&T USA Outdoor Track & Field Championships serves as the Team USA selection competition for the 2007 IAAF World Outdoor Championships in Osaka.

The heavily favored Gay parlayed a solid start into a brilliant drive phase and an unrelenting finish into a meet-record winning time of 9.84. With a headwind of .5mps, the time is the fastest in the world this year and the second-fastest ever run into a headwind, 2000 Olympic gold medalist Maurice Greene having run 9.82 into a -0.2 headwind at the 2001 World Championships in Edmonton. It shattered the meet record of 9.90 held jointly by former world record holders Greene and Leroy Burrell.

LSU sophomore Trindon Holliday, second at the 2007 NCAA Championships, was a distant runner-up on 10.07 seconds, with NCAA champ Walter Dix of Florida State third in 10.09. Gay's win had the largest margin of victory in the 100 since fully automatic, electric timing was instituted in 1975.

2003 world champion Torri Edwards displayed an impressive return to form in the Visa women's 100m. At age 30, the 2003 USA 100 and 200 champion led from start to finish, winning in 11.02 (0.9mps). World champion Lauryn Williams was second in 11.16, with Carmelita Jeter third in 11.17. World 200m champion Allyson Felix was fourth in 11.25 to make the 100m squad for the World Championships in Osaka, since Williams has an automatic bye as defending champion.

The Nike men's 5,000 was less relatively speedy but much more suspenseful. In a large field, Matt Tegenkamp threw down a 58.7 lap with 1000 meters go to break away from Bernard Lagat, Jonathon Riley and Adam Goucher. Fresh off an American record at 2 miles at the Nike Prefontaine Classic, Tegenkamp opened a 15-meter lead over the field. Goucher moved to pass Lagat, the defending USA champion, with 200m to go as Tegenkamp still led, but Lagat turned that challenge away and then set upon reeling in a tiring Tegenkamp. Lagat sprinted away to win in 13:30.73, with Tegenkamp holding on for second in 13:31.31 and Goucher third in 13:31.50.

American record holder Shalane Flanagan surprised no one by leading the Nike women's 5,000 from wire-to-wire. Her winning time of 14:51.75, however, was perhaps a bit brisker than expected and was the fourth-fastest time ever by an American. Two-time Olympian Jen Rhines was second in 15:08.53, with Michelle Sikes third in 15:09.28.

Two-time defending world champion Dwight Phillips turned in a strong performance in the men's long jump with a best mark of 8.36m/27-5.25. 2005 USA champion Miguel Pate was second with 8.24m/27-00.5, with Trevell Quinley third at the same distance. Two-time OlympianWalter Daviswas fourth, also with the same distance as a farthest jump, but Quinley had the top next-best jump with 8.22m/26-11.75.

A trio of vaulters all cleared 5.70m/18-8.25 to qualify for Team USA. World Outdoor silver medalist Brad Walker won the competition with all first-attempt clearances, with American record holder Jeff Hartwig second. 2001 NCAA indoor champion Jacob Pauli was third at the same height.

A.G. Kruger successfully defended his national title in the men's hammer throw with a distance of 78.10m/256-3. Kibwe Johnson was second with 75.12m/246-5. Former NCAA champion Dana Pounds of the Air Force upset American record holder Kim Kreiner in the women's javelin, throwing 59.65m/195-8 to Kreiner's 58.17m/190-10.

2003 world champion Tom Pappas led the men's decathlon after the first five events with 4,394 points, ahead of Paul Terek in second (4,234). Pappas ran 11.00 in the 100, jumped 7.50m/24-7.25 in the long jump, threw 16.43/53-11 in the shot, cleared 2.05m/6-8.75 in the high jump and ran 48.81 in the 400.

Diana Pickler led the heptathlon after four events with 3,636 points. She ran 13.46 in the 100-meter hurdles, cleared 1.75m/5-8.75 in the high jump, threw 12.44m/40-9.75 and ran 24.07 in the 200. 2005 champion Hyleas Fountain was second with 3,618 points and defending champion GiGi Miller third with 3,616.

In qualifying rounds, the women's 100-meter hurdles provided a glimpse into the competition to expect in Saturday's semis and final. Defending USA and NCAA champion Ginnie Powell ran a quick 12.79 in Friday's first round into a 1.7mps headwind. Reigning world champion Michelle Perry was next fastest, winning heat 3 in 12.90, with Nichole Denby taking the second heat in 12.92.

2006 world athlete of the year Sanya Richards ran a 2007 world leader in the semifinals of the women's 400, blazing the first 200 under 24 seconds and finishing in 50.02. 2006 runner-up Lashawn Merritt was the top men's 400 qualifier with 44.44. Hazel Clark led women's 800 qualifiers with 2:02.59, while Khadevis Robinson (1:46.17) was the top man.

Micheal Tinsley was a surprising winner in the men's 400m hurdles semifinals, running a big personal-best of 48.02 in heat two to post the fastest time in the world this year.

Steve Slattery was the fastest man in the 3,000m steeplechase rounds in 8:33.65, Tiffany Williams ran 55.18 in the women's 400m hurdles, all top contenders in the men's 1,500m advanced, including defending champion Bernard Lagat and two-time champion Alan Webb,

The AT&T USA Outdoor Track & Field Championships television coverage continues Saturday from 2-3 p.m. Eastern on NBC and from 7-8 p.m. Eastern on ESPN2. It concludes Sunday with live coverage on NBC from 1-3.

For complete results and athlete quotes, visit