USATF Long Distance Running Notes


Jim Estes
LDR Programs Manager
USA Track & Field

Americans Win World Masters 100K Championships, Team USA Sweeps medals

BARILOCHE, Argentina - Team USA members Mark Godale (35) and Amanda McIntosh (40) won the men's and women's respective titles at the 2005 World Masters Athletics 100-kilometer (62-mile) World Championships in Bariloche, Argentina. The U.S. women's team including McIntosh, Tania Pacev (46), and Dee Dee Grafius (56) swept the gold, silver, and bronze medals at the December 11 event.

In addition to setting four age-group course records, the U.S.'s eight-member team scored a total of nine medals, two more than the second place Argentinean team and three times the number of medals awarded to third place Uruguay.

This team was the largest team that the United States has sent to a masters world ultra championship and the four returning veteran team members showed their experience against teams from Canada, Columbia, Spain, Uruguay, and host country Argentina.

The four men and four women USATF masters 100K team represented a mix of states and two decades of age groups. The WMA 100K World Championship is an opportunity for American ultrarunners age 35 and over to compete in a world 100K championship exclusively for masters runners. The goal of the 2005 USATF Masters 100K Team is to provide broad American age-group presence at the World Cup 100K, demonstrating American support for the masters 100K world competition and to compete for individual world age-group medals.

For 2005 WMA 100K world championship results visit

Kastor nominated for Athlete of the Year Award

2004 Olympic women's marathon bronze medalist Deena Kastor has been nominated for the and United States Sports Academy 2005 Athlete of the Year Award.

Kastor built up a sizeable lead and managed to hold on to win the 2005 LaSalle Bank Chicago Marathon in 2 hours, 21 minutes, 25 seconds. Kastor's victory was the first major marathon win for an American in 11 years.

In a September tune-up leading up to the Chicago Marathon, Kastor set an American record at the Philly Distance Classic Half-Marathon with her win in 1 hour, 7 minutes, 53 seconds.

In addition to Kastor, this year's female ballot includes Kim Clijsters, Natalie Coughlin, Tirunesh Dibaba, Yolanda Griffith, Gao Jun, Nastia Liukin, Danica Patrick, Paula Radcliffe, Irina Slutskaya, Annika Sorenstam, Venus Williams and Yelena Isinbayeva.

The 2005 male ballot includes Lance Armstrong, Tom Brady, Reggie Bush, Tim Duncan, Jermaine Dye, Roger Federer, Matt Leinart, Peyton Manning, Bode Miller, Asafa Powell, Aaron Peirsol, Tony Stewart and Tiger Woods.

Votes will be collected online from December 1-24. To submit your vote, please visit <> or <> .

The ballot, run in conjunction with, attracts tens of thousands of votes from sports fans around the globe.

The male or female athlete receiving the most votes will be named the Academy's Athlete of the Year. Past winners include Lance Armstrong, Barry Bonds, Mia Hamm, Michael Jordan, Annika Sorenstam and Tiger Woods. In addition to the overall winner, a Female Athlete of the Year and Male Athlete of the Year will also be selected.

Long Distance Running Resources

America's Running Routes

America's Running Routes allows runners to search all routes in a particular city or to narrow their search to find routes on a specific type of terrain, from hotels, in parks, from trailheads or from running stores. Business travelers can find routes to run from the hotel where they are staying or from local parks.


USATF Calendar

Search for long distance running events including national and association championships and grand prix events.

Resources for Event Directors

How to organize an event, race sanctions, course certifications, competition rules, how to submit results, championship bidding information and more.