Wisconsin men, Stanford women win NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships


Jim Estes
LDR Programs Manager
USA Track & Field
317-261-0500 x315

TERRE HAUTE - After finishing second the previous two years, the University of Wisconsin won the men's team title while Stanford captured the women's crown Monday at the 2005 NCAA Division I National Cross Country Championships. The event was hosted by Indiana State University at the LaVern Gibson Cross Country Course.

Wisconsin senior, Simon Bairu won his second individual title in a row to lead the Badgers to the team title over the University of Arkansas. Bariu, Richard Kipligat (Sr.) of Iona and Josh McDougal (Soph.) battled each other through 8 km, when Bariu began to pull away to a five-second victory over Kipligat running 29:15.9 to 29:21.9 for the 10 km course. Bariu's teammate, Chris Solinski (Jr.) managed to run McDougal down in the last kilometer to finish third in 29:27.8. McDougal was timed in 29:32.6. Texas-Pan American senior Westly Keating rounded out the top-five, running 29:38.1

Wisconsin handily won the team title with 37 points over the University of Arkansas' 105. Notre Dame was third with 178, Iona fourth with 205 and defending team champions Colorado rounded out the top-five teams with 222.

In the women's race, Northern Arizona junior Johanna Nilsson out-dueled pre-race favorite Caroline Bierbaum (Sr.) of Columbia to win in a course record 19:33.9 over the 6 km course. Bierbaum held off a late race charge from Notre Dame senior Stephanie Madia to finish second in 19:46.0. Madi was timed in 19:48.4. Butler senior Victoria Mitchell and Duke junior Clara Horowitz rounded out the top-five, running 19:50.4 and 19:50.7 respectively.

Led by sophomore Arianna Lambie, Stanford won their second women's team title in the last three years over the defending champion University of Colorado 146 to 181. The heavily favored Duke University women finished third with 185 points. Northern Arizona was fourth with 191 points and Illinois finished fifth with 212.

This year marked the third time since 2002 that the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships have been hosted Indiana State University. The event will return to Terre Haute in 2006.

For more information on the NCAA Cross Country Championships visit www.ncaasports.com.