Join/Renew Now

U.S. 100 km team named for IAU World Cup


Jill Geer
Chief Public Affairs Officer
USA Track & Field
(508) 520-1529

The Mountain/Ultra/Trail (MUT) Council of USA Track & Field has selected the USA 100 Km Team to compete in the 2004 IAU 100km World Cup. The USATF 100K National Team will compete in the 2004 International Association of Ultrarunners (IAU) 100 Km World Cup Under the Patronage of the IAAF in Winschoten, Netherlands on September 11, 2004. The annual 100 Km World Cup race is the one international venue at which USATF fields an ultra distance team. The United States will be represented by a team of six men and six women ultrarunners. The 62.1 mile World Cup race is the longest annual world title footrace. The US team members are:

Women Lucy Carr, France ; Ann Heaslett, WI; Nikki Kimball, NY; Anne Riddle, NC; Anthea Schmid, CO; Siri Terjesen, England

Alternates (in order): Tania Pacev, CO; Laura Nelson, VA; Carolyn Smith, WI

Men: Tim Clement, OH; Mark Godale, OH; Dave Mackey, CO; Howard Nippert, VA; Bob Sweeney, NY; Mark Werner, MI

Alternates (in order): Jim Ramacier, MN; Michael Buchanan, CA; Jarrow Wahman, MN

The team selected by USATF/MUT is the only officially sanctioned team of individuals from the United States able to compete in IAU World Cup 100 km competition. Three men and three women were selected to the 100 km Team as a result of their top three finishes at the AUA 100 km held April 4, 2004. MUT selected the remaining team members and alternates for the US National 100 Km Team based on their ultrarunning performances that met the published criteria during the qualifying period of April 1, 2003 to April 17, 2004. The USATF Selection Process and the lists of men's and women's performances that MUT used to select the remaining team members and alternates is available at:

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life NCSA Gatorade KT Nationwide Normatec St. Vincent UCS