Join/Renew Now

News & Notes

Volume 2, Number 112

Jill Geer
Chief Public Affairs Officer
USA Track & Field
(508) 520-1529

Raczko named Nike Youth Coach of Year

Raczko named Nike Youth Coach of the Year

Scott Raczko of South Lakes High School in Reston, Va., has been named Nike Youth Coach of the Year, USA Track & Field (USATF) announced Friday at its 2001 Annual Meeting in Mobile, Ala. Frye was to receive his award Friday night at the Jesse Owens Awards Dinner and Xerox Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

A former assistant coach at George Mason University, Raczko is most known for coaching prep sensation Alan Webb, who became the fastest high school miler in U.S. history this year after his 3:53.43 at the May 27 Prefontaine Classic in Eugene, Oregon. Webb also set a national record for 1,500m in that race at3:38.26.

Under Raczko, South Lakes enjoyed tremendous success on the track. With Webb running anchor, South Lakes won two coveted titles at the 2001 Penn Relays and two more relay crowns at the National Scholastics meet in North Carolina, where Webb anchored South Lakes to a national high-school record of 9:49.78 in the distance-medley relay.

“I’m surprised and honored to get this award from Nike,” Raczko said. “Alan is an incredible talent, and it was the experience of a lifetime to work with him over the years to achieve the goals we had set. Everyone on our team put in a tremendous amount of hard work, and everyone made sacrifices in deciding to run relays. Penn Relays titles and a national record come from teamwork and dedication, and I’m happy to accept this award for everyone on the South Lakes team.”

And the winner is …

USATF’s committees handed out a variety of honors Friday morning, Nov. 30, at the annual Awards Breakfast.

Here’s a look at the winners:

Harrison Dillard Award (Outstanding male athlete in sprints or hurdles) – Allen Johnson. Jim Thorpe Award (Outstanding male athlete in the field events and decathlon category) – John Godina. Glen Cunningham Award (Outstanding male athlete in the distance events of 800 meters and longer) – Mebrahtom Keflezighi. Joseph Robichaux Award (Outstanding contributor to women’s track & field) – Deanne Vochatzer. C.C. Jackson Award (Outstanding female athletes in running and field events) – Marion Jones. Women’s Development Athletes of the Year: Kelli White, sprints; Anjanette Kirkland, hurdles; Deena Drossin, Marla Runyan, distances; Stacy Dragila, jumps; Dawn Ellerbe, Seilala Sua. Scott Hamilton Award (Leadership at the association level) – Bob Rush. Robert E. DeCelle Award (Outstanding male long distance runner) – Mebrahtom Keflezighi. H. Browning Ross Long Distance running Merit Award - Joe Vigil. Cross Country Merit Award (Outstanding male cross country runner) - Dathan Ritzenhein and 2001 U.S. Men’s 12K World Championships Team. Women’s Subcommittee Cross Country Award – Jeff Johnson Ted Corbitt Ultra Distance Runner of the Year Award – Rich Hawnatt Women’s LDR Runner of the Year – Deena Drossin Women’s LDR Contributor of the Year – Jerry Crockett Ultra Distance Running Athletes of the Year – Rich Hanna & Ann Trason Mountain Running Athletes of the Year – Eric Morse & Kari Di Stefano Masters Ultra Distance Runners of the Year – Rudy Afander & Sue Ellen Trapp Captain Ron Zinn Memorial Awards: Curt Clausen (20K & 50K) and Michelle Rohl Outstanding Association (Race walking) – Ohio Mike Riban Award for Outstanding Contributor to Race Walking – Ginger Mulanax Masters Administrator of the Year – George Matthews Gwilym Brown Award (Outstanding Masters male and female track & field athletes) – Male -Nolan Shaheed, Female – Johnnye Valien. Outstanding Male Multi-Event Masters Athlete – Phil Byrne Outstanding Female Multi-Event Masters Athlete – Johnnye Valien Outstanding Male Cross Country Masters Athlete – Tom Dalton Outstanding Female Cross Country Masters Athletes - Outstanding Masters Single Performances – Male - Lad Pataki, Female – Vanessa Hiliard Otto Essig Award (Meritorious service to Masters LDR) – Jerry Crockett Frank Sevigne Award (Outstanding contributor to Youth Athletics) – Dorothy Dawson Bill Hargrove Award (Top youth association) – Illinois Andy Bakjian Award (Outstanding official) – Susan Polansky Horace Crow Award (Officials) – Len Krsak USATF Association of the Year – New Mexico Horace Crow Award (Top Association Administrator) – Ruth Van Kuren

Outstanding Masters Track Athletes of 2001

30-34 Robert Thomas Devon Sargent 35-39 Chris Yorges Rebecca Heuer 40-44 Karl Smith Rose Monday 45-49 Neville Hodge Denise McField 50-54 Nolan Shaheed Carolyn Smith-Hanna 55-59 Steve Robbins Joan Ottaway 60-64 Paul Edens, Bill Borla Yvette LaVigne 65-69 Paul Johnson Carolyn Cappetta 70-74 Harry Brown Sumin Onodera-Leonard 75-79 John Keston Johnnye Valien 80-84 Jim Manno Gerry Davidson 85-89 Vince Malizia Mavis Borthick 90-94 Ted Hatlen Eleanor Pease 95- Everett Hosack

Outstanding Masters Field Athletes of 2001

30-34 Art Henson Misha Gutzler 35-39 Gregory Foster Alethea Morris 40-44 Ken Jansson Oneithea Lewis 45-49 Gary Hunter Ruth Welding 50-54 Joe Greenberg Phil Raschker 55-59 Lad Pataki Linda Douglass 60-64 Glen Johnson Vanessa Hilliard 65-69 Gerald Vaughn Erika Messner 70-74 Jim Stookey Leonore McDaniels 75-79 Vince Sempronio Johnnye Valien 80-84 Tom Kennell Melanie Reske 85-89 Donald Pellman Juanitta Brookover 90-94 Ted Hatlen Eleanor Pease 95-99 Everett Hosack 100 John Whittemore

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life NCSA Gatorade KT Nationwide Normatec St. Vincent UCS