Join/Renew Now


Masters Ultrarunner of the Year Award Criteria

Recognizing outstanding athletic achievement in ultra distance running by a male and a female masters athlete.

The Masters Ultrarunner of the Year Awards, which honors the top Male and Female Masters Ultrarunners of the Year, are presented at the USATF Annual Meeting Awards Breakfast in December of each year. To select the recipient of these awards, the MUT Running Council compiles the performance highlights of masters ultrarunners each year. The performance period for the award is November 1 October 31. The voting process is completed by the end of November so that the Masters ROY Awards can be formally presented to the winning athletes at the USATF Awards Breakfast.

The recipients of the Masters Ultrarunner of the Year Awards must be USATF members for the year. To be nominated for the award the athlete must be a current USATF member.  Qualifications are strictly athletic achievements and shall include:

  • Athletes must be 40 years of age or older
  • Placing in USATF national championships
  • Record or outstanding performance in other ultra distance races, (road, trail, track) or sanctioned international events
  • Overall ultrarunning performance record for the year

Masters Ultrarunner Award winners.



Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec