Join/Renew Now

Officials Committee Governance 

NOC Operating Procedures

Current: Revision 10 - December 2017

Executive Committee Members

Title Name/Assoc. Address Phone/Email
Chair Mike Armstrong
2606 S. 43rd St.
Springdale, AR 72762
Cell: (479) 530-4086
Immediate Past Chair: Len Krsak
Secretary Rich Schornstein
1023 War Eagle Dr. N.
Colorado Springs, CO 80919
Home: (719) 265-1811
Cell: (314) 960-3271
Immediate Past Secretary: Tom Hott
Treasurer Doug Allen
890 Charwood Dr
Lexington, KY 40515
Home: (859) 273-4846
Cell: (859) 489-0335
Immediate Past Treasurer: Sue Polansky
Vice Chair - Awards E. Scott Rose
9 Club Drive
Chillicothe, OH 45601
Cell: (740) 649-6664
Immediate Past Awards Chair: Gordon Bocock
Vice Chair - Certification Roger Burbage
North Carolina
4605 Limerick Drive
Raleigh, NC 27604-3525
Home: (919) 876-2421
Cell: (919) 270-6139
Immediate Past Certification Chair: Jimmy Stuart
Vice Chair - Rules Laurie Boemker
New England
18 Rugby Street
Cranston, RI 02910
Cell: (401) 286-9281
Immediate Past Rules Chair: Bob Podkaminer
Vice Chair - Training Marty Johnson
2035 Alondra Court
Colorado Springs, CO 80919-4808
Home: (719) 531-7278
Cell: (719) 209-1892
Immediate Past Training Chair: Rich Schornstein
Board of Directors Representative Len Krsak
4788 Crazy Horse Lane
Westerville, OH 43081-4416
Home: (614) 899-6073
Cell: (614) 395-4592


N.O.C. Subcommittee Chairs


Click here to see a listing of N.O.C. Subcommittee chairs with their respective contact information

National Officials Committee (NOC)

The NOC is responsible for the certification, training, and general supervision of competition officials in all the disciplines of USATF, and for promoting, encouraging, and improving the conditions of officiating throughout the country.  Membership of the Committee is as follows:

  • NOC Elected Officers (7)
  • Association Certification Chairs (57)
    • One additional Association Rep for every 100 certified officials
  • NOC Elected At-Large Members (3)
  • NOC Permanent Subcommittee Chairs (13)
  • USATF Standing Sport Committee Reps (7)
  • USATF Presidential Appointees (4)
  • Athletes Advisory Committee rep (4)
  • Paralympics Committee rep (1)
  • Associations Committee rep (1)

Term Info

Executive Committee officers serve 4 year terms that are staggered to provide continuity on the committee. Should an officer resign before their term is up, the chair will appoint someone to fill that position until the next annual meeting when a special election will be held to fulfill the remainder of the original term.

Election Schedule (according to current bylaws):

  • Chair: 2020, 2024 etc.
  • Secretary: 2020, 2024, etc.
  • Treasurer: 2022, 2026, etc.
  • Vice Chair - Awards: 2022, 2026, etc.
  • Vice Chair - Certification: 2022, 2026, etc.
  • Vice Chair - Rules: 2020, 2024, etc.
  • Vice Chair - Training: 2020, 2024, etc.

Nomination Process (per the Officials Committee Operating Procedures)

  • The Nominating Committee shall request nominations at least ninety (90) days prior to the Annual Meeting
  • Nominations shall be returned to the Nominating Committee at least forty five (45) days in advance of the Annual Meeting (postmarked by October 18, 2010)
  • Nominations will be accepted from the floor at the Annual Meeting

Who is eligible to run for the Executive Committee positions?

Per the NOC Operating Procedures (posted above), any individual who is a current certified official, a current member of USATF and a current member of the National Officials Committee of USA Track & Field is eligible to run. For details on who is a member of the National Officials Committee, please see Section 4 of the NOC Operating Procedures.

How to submit a nomination

Nomination info will be posted once nominations are being accepted for the next elections.

History of the NOC

Click here for a history of all National Officials Committee Officers.

Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2018 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.