Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Wisconsin’s Sarah Disanza named USATF Athlete of the Week


INDIANAPOLIS -- Wisconsin’s redshirt freshman standout Sarah Disanza earns USA Track & Field Athlete of the Week honors after her record-setting 5,000 meters at the Boston University Season Opener last weekend.

Disanza’s time of 15:20.57 is the fourth-fastest collegiate women’s 5,000 meter performance in NCAA indoor history. Her time, second-fastest in the world this year behind Molly Huddle’s 15:13.86, smashed the previous Badger and Big Ten records of 15:37.02 (Kathy Butler, 1997).

Disanza (Wantage, New Jersey) is setting herself up for a strong 2015 track & field season, as her record day in Boston follows a runner-up finish at the 2014 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships.

Disanza’s performance has earned her quite the haul this week, as she is the first-ever women’s track athlete at Wisconsin to be named the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) National Athlete of the Week and she also nabbed Big Ten Indoor Track Athlete of the Week accolades.

Now in its 13th year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

2014 Winners: January 15, Chris Derrick; January 22, Galen Rupp; January 29, Galen Rupp; February 5, Alexa Efraimson; February 12, Mike Rutt; February 19, Bernard Lagat; February 26,Sharon Day-Monroe; March 3, David Torrence; March 13, Francena McCorory; March 19, Irene Obera; March 26, Duane Solomon; April 2, Maria Michta; April 7, Noah Lyles; April 14, Kendell Williams; April 21, Meb Keflezighi; April 28, Kristi Castlin; May 7, Maria Michta; May 14, Erik Kynard; May 21, Emma Coburn; May 28, Brenda Martinez; June 2, Galen Rupp; June 9, Tori Bowie; June 16, Trayvon Bromell; June 23, Charles Austin; June 30, Devon Allen; July 7, Kaylin Whitney; July 14, Emma Coburn; July 21, Florence Meiler; July 28, Kaylin Whitney; August 4, Ed Burke; August 11, Cierra White; August 21, Gwen Berry; August 27, Myles Marshall; September 3, Gia Lewis Smallwood; September 10, Justin Gatlin; September 17, Dawn Harper-Nelson; September 24, Deena Kastor; October 1, Shalane Flanagan; October 8, Tyler Pennel; October 15, Tatyana McFadden; October 22, Patrick Smyth; October 29, Larisa Dannis; November 5, Alana Hadley; November 12, Kathy Martin; November 20, Brian Shrader; November 26, Max King; December 11, Sarah Disanza.

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.