Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Weekend Recap: NCAA Cross Country Conference Championships


ACC - Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts

Notre Dame’s men and North Carolina State’s women claimed the team titles. Virginia Tech junior Peter Seufer defeated the ACC Freshman of the Year, Zach Facioni (23:31.4), to win the men’s individual title with a time of 23:30.9. Notre Dame placed three men in the top 10 to defeat the five-time defending champion Syracuse edging them out by four points. Yared Nuguse, a member of Team USATF at the 2018 IAAF Under-20 World Championships in Finland, led the Fighting Irish with his third place finish in 23:48.8. On the women’s side, Louisville junior Dorcas Wasike, last year’s runner-up, finished strong to claim the individual gold medal with a time of 20:08.1. NC State prevented an Irish sweep beating Notre Dame by one point for the team title. NC State junior Elly Henes (21:16.3) pulled ahead of Notre Dame’s Anna Rohrer (20:19.2) finishing in second and third respectively.

Big 12 - Ames, Iowa

The hosts swept the team titles and the individual crowns, as Iowa State repeated its men’s and women’s victories from 2017. The Cyclones were led to their third straight women’s title by Cailie Logue, who was eighth in the 5,000m for Team USATF at this year’s IAAF World Under-20 Championships in Finland. Logue, also the reigning U.S. U-20 champ in the 5,000m, covered the 6K course in 19:53.8 to win by 2.5 seconds. Edwin Kurgat paced the Iowa State men with a five-second win in 23:21.1, becoming the first Cyclone man to win the individual title.

Big East - Carmel, Indiana

Georgetown’s men won for the fourth straight year and Villanova’s women defended the team trophy they won in 2017, with ‘Nova sweeping individual honors. Casey Comber was the fastest in the men’s race at 23:59.7, while teammate Caroline Alcorta led a 1-2 finish for the Wildcats in 20:12.4. The Villanova women placed six runners in the top eight and scored 21 points.

Big Ten - Lincoln, Nebraska

Wisconsin’s men picked up their 49th conference title with a 1-2-4 finish and Michigan edged in-state rival Michigan State for a third-straight women’s team win. Morgan McDonald won his second individual gold for Wisconsin, beating out teammate and reigning champion Oliver Hoare by three seconds in 23:26.4. The Badgers also took the top spot in the women’s 6K, as Alicia Monson moved up from a 22nd-place finish last year to win by more than nine seconds in 19:49.3.

Pac-12 - Stanford, California

For the first time ever, the reigning individual champions defended their titles, with Stanford’s Grant Fisher and Colorado’s Dani Jones topping the podium. Fisher helped host Stanford to its second straight team win with his narrow victory over Washington’s Talon Hull, clocking 23:09.8 to win by 0.4 seconds. Jones also got the best of a tight finish over Oregon’s Jessica Hull, but it was the Ducks that came away with the team trophy, breaking Colorado’s three-meet win streak.

SEC - Auburn, Alabama

Breaking an eight-year Arkansas win streak, Ole Miss won its first SEC men’s title by eight points, beating the Razorbacks 36-44. Putting their top five in the top 11, Ole Miss overcame an individual win by Gilbert Boit of Arkansas. Placing six runners in the top 10, Arkansas continued its dominance in the women’s team trophy race, winning a sixth straight and 19th overall by scoring 24 points, the lowest score since 2009. Florida’s Jessica Pascoe was the individual gold medalist, winning by more than five seconds in 18:55.

Mountain West - San Diego, California

Boise State’s men return to the top of the podium with their second conference title in three seasons placing all five scoring runners in the top 15 holding off Air Force 50-63. Wyoming junior Paul Roberts won the individual title by three seconds in 24:34.1. Defending their 2017 title, New Mexico women defeated Boise State 33-35 for their 11th consecutive conference championship with the top three finishers. Weini Kelati won the women’s title in 19:49.3 beating teammate and defending champion Ednah Kurgat who was second in 20:07.4.

Big Sky - Sacramento, California

Northern Arizona men win their third straight conference title beating Weber State 21-70. NAU’s Matthew Baxter led the way winning the individual title in 22:46 with his teammates Tyler Day, Blaise Ferro and Geordie Beamish finishing second, third and fourth. Southern Utah women also dominated enroute to a 28-65 victory over NAU. Southern Utah placed four in the top six with Angie Nickerson finishing first in 16:30.3 to win the individual gold.

West Coast - Provo, Utah

BYU swept the conference titles with the women defeating Portland 27-40 and the men also beating Portland 21-52. Erica Birk led the women with her first place finish in 19:45.6, six seconds ahead of the second place finisher. Portland’s Nick Hauger won the individual title in 23:20.8 holding off BYU’s top finisher Connor McMillan (23:23). The BYU men placed four runners 2-5 and six in the top 10.


Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.