Join/Renew Now

Latest news

USATF Future Stars Crowned Champions at USATF National Junior Olympic Cross Country Championships


RENO -- Out of 2,900 participants in age groups ranging from 7-18, 10 national champions emerged from the muddy, snowy conditions in 30 degree weather at the 2018 USATF National Junior Olympic Cross Country Championships, held Saturday at Rancho San Rafael Regional Park.

Abigail Wallace kicked off the competition with a dominating 2K in the Girls’ 7-8 Division. Wallace took the lead from the start and never let it go, crossing the line in 8:07.6. On the Boys’ side, Rowan Henry won the 8 & Under title clocking in at 7:56.7, more than 20 seconds ahead of the second place finisher.

In the closest contest of the day, the boys’ 11-12 division, McKay Wells claimed the National Championship with a time of 10:50.0, just ahead of second and third place finishers Noe Kemper in 10:51.7 and Daniel Simmons in 10:52.0. The top seven finished within eight seconds.

In the girls 4K - 13-14 division, with a strong contingent of supports cheering her on, Kate Peters led through the halfway mark but Brooke Wilson remained within striking distance, stalking her until eventually taking the lead around 4K. Wilson crossed first with a time of 15:21, Peters finished a close second in 15:26.6 and Sadie Drucker took third in 15:33.9.

In the boys’ 5K 15-18 division, the final race of the day saw a tight battle until Erik Le Roux, the 2017 Champion in the 13-14 division, took off with about 1K remaining to win back-to-back titles, crossing the line in 16:31.2. Le Roux ended up winning by more than 20 seconds ahead of second place finisher Kevin Ramos Leyva’s 16:52.0.

A list of the top three finishers in each age group is below. Click here for full results.

USATF National Junior Olympic Cross Country Championships

Girls 2K - 8 & Under Division:

Abigail Wallace (Unattached) 8:07.6

Yasmin Lopez (Pacific Coast Shock Waves) 8:14.6

Gianna Rahmer (Albuquerque Athletics Track): 8:38.7

Boys 2K - 8 & Under Division:

Rowan Henry (N. Idaho XC) 7:56.7

Elias Thronson (Sacramento Elite) 8:18.1

William Malueng (Jefferson Parks & Recreation) 8:22.6

Girls 3K - 9-10 Division:

Yamilet Lopez (Pacific Coast Shock Waves) 11:54.9

Jessica Abbott (Shore Athletic) 12:02.8

Summer WIlson (Pacific Coast Shock Waves) 12:10.6

Boys 3K - 9-10 Division:

Maximo Zavaleta (Pacific Coast Shock Waves) 11:07.4

Tesfaye Femling (Albuquerque Athletics Track) 11:22.5

Mitchell Rietze (N. Idaho XC) 11:30.6

Girls 3K - 11-12 Division:

Bethany Michalak (Kokopelli Racing Team) 11:14.3

Mia Prok (Boulder Mountain Warriors) 11:33.2

Sadie Engelhardt (Unattached) 11:44.9

Boys 3K - 11-12 Division:

McKay Wells (Race Cats A) 10:50.0

Noe Kemper (YMCA Team Idaho) 10:51.7

Daniel Simmons (YMCA Team Idaho) 10:52.0

Girls 4K - 13-14 Division:

Brooke Wilson (Parker Panthers) 15:21.0

Kate Peters (Bowerman Track Club) 15:26.6

Sadie Drucker (Unattached) 15:33.9

Boys 4K 13-14 Division:

Nate Jaster (Fit 180 Athletics) 13:52.3

Jayden Fitzgerrald (Unattached) 14:03.4

Gavin Shary (Unattached) 14:03.6

Girls 5K 15-18 Division:

Mary Heinen (Richmond Track & Field) 19:35.0

Emily Carter (Pacer Track) 19:48.2

Kaimei Gescuk (Greyhounds Track) 19:54.8

Boys 5K 15-18 Division:

Erik Le Roux (Unattached) 16:31.2

Kevin Ramons Leyva (So Cal Roadrunners) 16:52.0

Christian Kuplack (N.Idaho XC) 17:15.3

Join the conversation with USATF on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook using the hashtag #USATF and #JOXC.

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.