Join/Renew Now

Latest news

USATF Annual Meeting wraps up in Columbus


COLUMBUS -- The 2018 USATF Annual Meeting closed with updates from associations and committee reports, highlighting newly elected board members and pending site selections, on December 2 at the Hyatt Regency in Columbus, Ohio.

Newly elected board members

Olympic silver medalist Erik Kynard will serve on the USATF board as the board member for coaches, Christopher Pasko as USATF board member for general competition, and 2018 President’s Award recipient Tricia Myers as USATF board member for youth. Olympian Wallace Spearmon was elected to an open athlete seat and 2016 Olympic gold medalist Michelle Carter retained her position as board member for athletes. 1983 World Championship silver medalist Willie Banks was elected as USATF’s nominee to the IAAF Council.

Site selections

Pending approval, Orlando, Florida has been selected as the site of the 2021 and 2022 Annual Meeting. Lexington, Kentucky was selected as the site for the 2019 USATF Junior Olympic Cross Country National Championships, pending approval.

Committee reports presented

Interim President Michael Conley introduced the remaining committees to present reports, which included AAC, Associations, Coaches Advisory, Coaching Education, Diversity & Leadership, Long Distance Running, Masters Long Distance Running, Masters Track & Field, Men’s and Women’s Track & Field, Officials, Race Walk, Rules, Youth, Women’s Commission and Para Athletes.

Of particular note, the Officials Committee reported that the number of registered officials increased by 20 percent compared to 2017. Coaching Education saw more than 2,000 coaches complete coaching education programs with 500 coaches completing Level 2 School over 49 classes, the most ever held in a year.

The records committee received approval for 2018 records and the Rules committee had all items approved.

USATF’s Annual Meeting document library is available online and includes full reports from each committee. Next year’s Annual Meeting will be hosted in Reno, Nevada.

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.