Join/Renew Now

Latest news

USATF Annual Awards Breakfast honors dedicated constituents, associations


ORLANDO -- USATF recognized outstanding contributions by both individual members and regional associations at the Annual Awards Breakfast, held Saturday in conjunction with the 2016 Annual Meeting at Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista.


Outstanding Athlete of the Year

Michelle Carter, Female Athlete of the Year

Matthew Centrowitz, Male Athlete of the Year

Ashton Eaton, Best All-Around Athlete

Sanya Richards-Ross, Lifetime Achievement Award

Noah Lyles, Athlete of the Future

Christian Taylor, Best Male Jumper

Tianna Bartoletta, Best Female Jumper

Ryan Crouser, Best Male Thrower

Jeff Henderson, Best Male Long Jumper

Dalilah Muhammad, Best Female Hurdler

Brianna Rollins, Best Female Short Hurdler


USATF National Officials Committee Hall of Fame Inductees

Jim Carlisle (USATF Southwestern)

Ed Gorman (USATF Ohio)

Virginia Mulanax (USATF Ozark)

Mary Onken (USATF New York)
Karen Krsak (USATF Ohio)


Horace Crow, Jr. Award

Richard R. Messenger (USATF West Virginia)


John Davis Award

Virginia R. Mulanax (USATF Ozark)


James Grey Award

Richard H. Schornstein (USATF Colorado)


Lori Maynard Award

Maryanne Daniel (USATF Connecticut)


Charles Ruter Award

Rory Osborne (USATF Pacific)


Association Chair Award

Paul Bodenshot (USATF Pacific NW)

Monique White (USATF Mid-Atlantic)

Randy Hopkins (USATF Ohio)


Dr. Joe Vigil Coaches Education Award

Dr. Lawrence Judge


Fred Wilt Coaching Education Award

Ian Dube


Vern Gambetta Award

Ronda Broome


Ron Buss Service Award

Dave Pavlansky


Terry Crawford Award

Tamara Ards


Kevin McGill Award

Dr. Dave Shrock


Doris Heritage Award

Bob Latham


Level 2 Coaches Award

Glen McAtee


Male Cross Country Athlete of the Year

Garrett Heath


Female Cross Country Athlete of the Year

Amy Van Alstine


Doris Heritage Contributor of the Year Award

Bob Latham


Allan Steinfeld Award

Annually to recognize an individual within a road race organization who has provided

outstanding contributions to enhance MLDR - Tracey Russell


H. Browning Ross Merit Award

Jim Estes


Robert E. DeCelle Jr. Award

This award was established to honor the outstanding male long distance runner for the previous year. It is named for the late son (who was an avid runner) of the Men's Long Distance Running Committee's secretary at the outset of  TAC/USA, Robert DeCelle, Sr. - Galen Rupp, Marathon


Scott Hamilton Memorial Award

Mike Blackmore


2016 USATF Running Circuit Champion

Christo Landry


Al Oerter Male Thrower of the Year

Awarded annually to the outstanding male thrower of the year - Ryan Crouser, Shot Put


Glenn Cunningham Award

Awarded annually to the outstanding male athlete in events of 800 meters and longer, this is named for the legendary middle distance runner of the 30s and 40s who dominated the national and international scene, holding the world mile record along with an Olympic silver in Berlin ('36) and a near-miss fourth in Los Angeles ('32). - Matt Centrowitz, 1500m


Harrison Dillard Award

Awarded annually to the outstanding male athlete in the sprints and hurdles category, this award is named for the Hall of Fame sprinter/hurdler and double 100m/4x100m gold medalist from London (1948), who was also the world record holder in the 110m hurdles at the time. - Kerron Clement, 400m hurdles


Jim Thorpe Award

Awarded annually to the outstanding male athlete in the field events and decathlon category, this award is named for the legendary "greatest athlete of the first half of the 20th Century" (Associated Press) and the winner of the 1912 Olympic decathlon -- with a performance which would have placed him second in the 1948 Olympics! - Christian Taylor, Triple Jump


John Bennett Award

Presented to the athlete and individual who best exemplify the qualities of leadership, integrity, and dedication to the support and promotion of the decathlon. The award is named for the former VISA executive who spearheaded the corporation's support for the decathlon in the 1990s. - Ashton Eaton, Decathlon


Roy Griak Distinguished Service Award

John Green


Andy Bakjian Award

Shirley O. Connors (USATF Pacific)


Captain Ron Zinn Memorial Award

Given to the outstanding U.S. race walker to commemorate the achievements of Capt. Ron Zinn, who lost his life in combat during the Vietnam War. A race walker, he was a member of the U.S. Olympic Team in the 1964 Summer Games at Tokyo and his sixth place finish in the 20 km event was considered outstanding for American walkers at that time - John Nunn; Maria Michta-Coffey


Henry Laskau Junior Athlete Award

The Henry Laskau Award is presented to the year's outstanding U.S. junior male and female race walkers.  The award commemorates the achievements of Olympian Henry Laskau as an athlete and a person.  It was first presented in 2000. - Cameron Haught; Anali Cisneros


Masters Race Walker of the Year

Marianne Martino

Dave Swarts


Mike Riban Contributor Award

Given in memory of longtime supporter and official Mike Riban (Green & Gold AC, Chicago) to the outstanding contributor to the event. - Ian Whatley (USATF Oregon)


RRTC Ted Corbitt Award

This award is given in honor of Ted Corbitt for Outstanding Achievement in Course Measurement.

David Katz

Alan Jones

Bob Baumel

Robert Thurston

Ken Young

Tom Knight

Amy Morss


Dr. C. Harmon Brown Award

Jill McNitt-Gray

Josh Glass

Traci Statler


Marja Bakker Contributor Award of the Year

Greg Meyer


LDR Runner of the Year

Aliphine Tuliamuk


C.C. Jackson Award

Two awards are presented each year in memory of C.C. Jackson, who was one of the foremost promoters of women's track and field. He was active on all levels, from local to national, giving great encouragement to athletes and clubs. One award is given to the outstanding woman in running events and one to the outstanding woman in field events - Allyson Felix, 400m, 4x100m and 4x400m; Michelle Carter, Shot Put


Joseph Robichaux Award

LaTanya Sheffield


Frank Sevigne Award

Rubin Carter


Bill Hargrove Award

USATF New England Association


Brooks Johnson Development Chair of the Year

Orin Richburg


Rita Somerlot Development Coordinator of the Year

Cathleen Cawley


Masters Awards


Female Overall Road Runner of the Year

Kathryn Martin


Male Overall Road Runner of the Year

Meb Keflezighi


Otto Essig Award - Outstanding Contributor

Marian Lein


Masters Hall of Fame

Active: Libby James, Pete Magill, Mbarak Hussein

Legends: Vic Heckler, Marian Lein


Lifetime Athletic Achievement Award

Christel Donley


MTF Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year

Bill Collins


David Pain Distinguished Service

Jeff Davison


Masters LDR Road Runners of the Year


Jen Rhines

Meb Keflezighi



Perry Shoemaker

Christian Cushing-Murray



Marisa Sutera-Strange

Nat Larson



Brian Pilcher

Joan Benoit-Samuelson



Kathryn Martin

Brian Pilcher



Sabra Harvey

Tom Bernhard



Jan Holmquist

Ron Legg & Gary Patton



Libby James

John Ouweleen



Libby James

William Riley



Ella Jane Custer

Gunnar Linde



Willis Moses


U.S. Track Meet Directors Awards


Meet Director of the Year

Ray Flynn


Howard Schmertz Lifetime Achievement Award

Percy Beard


Ruth Anderson Memorial Award

Camille Herron

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.