Join/Renew Now

Latest news

USA Track & Field announces 2012 Fan’s Choice Awards


Voting begins today for USA Track & Field’s first ever Fan’s Choice Awards, which will be a part of the Jesse Owens Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony presented by Nike on Saturday, December 1, held in conjunction with the USATF Annual Meeting. Fans have the opportunity to select winners in six different categories to be announced during the ceremony in Daytona Beach, Fla.

Fans can vote for their favorite athletes and performances by clicking here and voting will remain open until Friday, November 30.

The list of categories and nominees is shown below.

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
Aries Merritt:
Won Olympic gold in the 110m hurdles, set the world record of 12.80, and ran the seven fastest times in the world for 2012, placed 5th at World Championships last year
Erik Kynard: Won Olympic silver in high jump, current collegiate athlete, tied for 14th on the world list in 2011
Brigetta Barrett: Won Olympic silver in high jump, current collegiate athlete, placed 10th at World Championships last year
DeeDee Trotter: Won Olympic bronze in the 400 meters and gold in the 4x400m, finished 2011 with the 27th best time in the world
Ryan Bailey: Made men’s 100m Olympic final; American record 4x100m; ran just two indoor races in 2011

Inspirational Performance of the Year
Manteo Mitchell: B
roke leg during qualifying round of 4x400m relay, but continued running to secure the team’s spot in the final
Meghan Vogel: High school track athlete from Ohio who put her arm around a wobbling competitor and helped her cross the finish line
Seth Goldstein: High school cross country runner from Memphis who stopped mid-race to help a boy who collapsed before finishing his own race
Curtis Beach: Leading the pace for the Olympic Trials decathlon 1500m, then stepping aside for Ashton Eaton’s world record finish

Olympic Trials Best Performance
Meb Keflezighi:
Won the Olympic Trials Marathon in a personal best of 2:09:08
Ashton Eaton: Set the decathlon world record of 9,039 points
Galen Rupp: Won the 10,000m (27:25.33) and broke Steve Prefontaine’s Olympic Trials 5,000m record (13:22.67)
Allyson Felix: Won the 200m in 21.69 to break Flo-Jo’s Trials record and become the fourth fastest woman of all-time

Clutch Performance of the Year
Lance Brooks:
Won the Olympic Trials and landed a spot on the Olympic team on his final throw in the men’s discus
Marquise Goodwin: Won the Olympic Trials on his final jump in the men’s long jump
Chelsea Hayes: Grabbed a spot on the Olympic team and an Olympic Trials runner-up finish on her final jump in the women’s long jump
Brittney Reese: Won world title and set the American record on her final jump at the World Indoor Championships

Best Olympic Female Performance
Allyson Felix:
Won three Olympic gold medals (200m, 4x100m relay, 4x400m relay)
Sanya Richards-Ross: Won long-awaited individual gold and becomes just the second U.S. woman to win the Olympic 400m
Brittney Reese: Won Olympic gold in the women’s long jump
Jenn Suhr: Became just the third American woman to win Olympic gold in the pole vault

Best Olympic Male Performance
Aries Merritt:
Won gold in the men’s 110-meter hurdles
Christian Taylor: Won gold in the men’s triple jump
Ashton Eaton: Won gold in the men’s decathlon
Will Claye: Became the first man since 1936 to win Olympic medals in both the long jump and triple jump

Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2018 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.