Join/Renew Now

Latest news

U.S. Athletes Named to Americas Team for IAAF Continental Cup


INDIANAPOLIS -- 32 U.S. athletes have been named to the Americas team for the 2014 IAAF Continental Cup, contested September 13-14 in Marrakech, Morocco at Great Stadium. The Americas are the defending champions of the event and this year’s team features five world champions and eight current world leaders.


Bernard Lagat is the only defending champion to compete in Morocco this year for the Americas and is undefeated at the Continental Cup and World Cup, the Continental Cup’s predecessor. He won titles in both the 3,000 and 5,000 meters in 2010. He also picked up the 1,500m title at the IAAF World Cup in 2002. U.S. athletes competing who are reigning global champions include Francena McCorory (400m - indoors), LaShawn Merritt (400m) and Jenn Suhr (pole vault).


The schedule for this year’s event can be found on U.S. athletes competing for the Americas who lead the world in their respective events are Joe Kovacs (shot put), Ajee’ Wilson (800m), Dawn Harper-Nelson (100mH) and Tianna Bartoletta (long jump).


Formerly known as the IAAF World Cup, this event changed format and name in 2010 to become the IAAF Continental Cup. This premier team competition of world athletics sees the greatest talents on earth compete, not for individual medals, but to accumulate points for their continental teams. The Continental Cup is contested by mixed teams representing Africa, the Americas, Asia-Pacific and Europe. The event takes place every four years.


IAAF Continental Cup - Americas Team


100m: Mike Rodgers (USA), Richard Thompson (TTO)

200m: Rasheed Dwyer (JAM), Alonso Edward (PAN)

400m: LaShawn Merritt (USA), Luguelin Santos (DOM)

800m: Duane Solomon (USA), Wesley Vazquez (PUR)

1500m: Leo Manzano (USA), Charles Philibert-Thiboutot (CAN)

3000m: Bernard Lagat (USA), Carlos Antonio dos Santos (BRA)

5000m: Andrew Bumbalough (USA), Ivan Lopez (CHI)

3000m steeplechase: Matt Hughes (CAN), Evan Jager (USA)

110m hurdles: Ronnie Ash (USA), Yodan O’Farrill (CUB)

400m hurdles: Javier Culson (PUR), Michael Tinsley (USA)

High jump: Derek Drouin (CAN), Erik Kynard (USA)

Pole vault: Augusto Dutra (BRA), Mark Hollis (USA)

Long jump: Will Claye (USA), Luis Rivera (MEX)

Triple jump: Claye, Jonathan Silva (BRA)

Shot put: Joe Kovacs (USA), O’Dayne Richards (JAM)

Discus: Jorge Fernandez (CUB), Jason Morgan (JAM)

Hammer: Roberto Janet (CUB), Kibwe Johnson (USA)

Javelin: Tim Glover (USA), Keshorn Walcott (TTO)

4x100m: Nesta Carter (JAM), Kim Collins (SKN), Rodgers, Thompson

4x400m: Chris Brown (BAH), Merritt, Gil Roberts (USA), Santos



100m: Michelle-Lee Ahye (TTO), Veronica Campbell-Brown (JAM)

200m: Joanna Atkins (USA), Anthoniqu Strachan (BAH)

400m: Francena McCorory (USA), Novlene Williams-Mills (JAM)

800m: Sahily Diago (CUB), Ajee’ Wilson (USA)

1500m: Shannon Rowbury (USA), Nicole Sifuentes (CAN)

3000m: Gabriele Grunewald (USA), Jessica O’Connell (CAN)

5000m: Brenda Flores (MEX), Katie Mackey (USA)

3000m steeplechase: Emma Coburn (USA), Jessica Furlan (CAN)

100m hurdles: Dawn Harper-Nelson (USA), Lavonne Idlette (DOM)

400m hurdles: Kori Carter (USA), Kaliese Spencer (JAM)

High jump: Chaunte Lowe (USA), Levern Spencer (LCA)

Pole vault: Fabiana Murer (BRA), Jenn Suhr (USA)

Long jump: Tianna Bartoletta (USA), Christabel Nettey (CAN)

Triple jump: Caterine Ibarguen (COL), Kimberly Williams (JAM)

Shot put: Cleopatra Borel (TTO), Michelle Carter (USA)

Discus: Gia Lewis-Smallwood (USA), Yaime Perez (CUB)

Hammer: Amanda Bingson (USA), Sultana Frizell (CAN)

Javelin: Liz Gleadle (CAN), Kara Patterson (USA)

4x100m: Ahye, Atkins, Bartoletta, Campbell-Brown, Samantha Henry-Robinson (JAM)

4x400m: Christine Day (JAM), McCorory, Stephenie Ann McPherson (JAM), Williams-Mills


Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.