Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Trio of Americans nominated for IAAF World Athlete of the Year

Ashton Eaton (Bend, Ore.), Lashawn Merritt (Suffolk, Va.) and Brianna Rollins (Miami, Fla.) are among the list of 10 men and 10 women who will vie for the IAAF World Athlete of the Year Award.

Rollins captured gold at World Outdoors in Moscow, set an American Record (12.26) to win the USA Outdoor crown and broke the collegiate record (12.39) in winning the NCAA Outdoor title. She ran four of the five fastest times in the world this year.

Eaton won his first world title in the decathlon; his score in Moscow of 8909 was the year’s top  performance.  Merritt won gold in the 400m and 4x400m relay at the World Championships and claimed the Diamond League 400m title as well.

The winner will be announced in a live ceremony on stage during the 2013 World Athletics Gala on Saturday, November 16.

For a complete list of nominees and selection procedures, visit to

Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2018 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.