Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Saturday’s New Balance Indoor Grand Prix features stars of Rio live on NBCSN


BOSTON -- Over a dozen Olympians from the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team, including nine Rio Olympic medalists, will take center stage as the 2017 USATF Championship Series kicks off at the New Balance Indoor Grand Prix on Saturday, January 28. Action begins at 3:30 p.m. from the Reggie Lewis Center on the campus of Roxbury Community College.

Live broadcast coverage begins at 4 p.m. ET on NBCSN and the NBC Sports app, and on demand coverage of the New Balance Indoor Grand Prix will be available on USATF.TV +PLUS beginning at 6 p.m. ET on Sunday, January 29.

Rio Olympic medalists Matthew Centrowitz, Paul Chelimo, Emma Coburn, English Gardner, Jeff Henderson, Clayton Murphy, Courtney Okolo, Gil Roberts and Jenny Simpson will take to the track Saturday, along with fellow Rio Olympians Brenda Martinez, Sydney McLaughlin, Shannon Rowbury and 2012 Olympic champion Jenn Suhr. Coburn, McLaughlin, Martinez and Simpson are teaming up to represent Team USA in the women’s distance medley relay, with their sights set on the world records set at the 2015 NBIGP (10:42.57).

The 2017 IAAF World Indoor Tour also starts up at Saturday’s NBIGP, consisting of five meetings where athletes compete for points in designated tour disciplines. At the end of the series, the individual overall winner of each event receives $20,000 in prize money and a ‘wild card’ entry to the IAAF World Indoor Championships. The tour disciplines in 2017 are the 60m hurdles, 400m, 1500m, high jump and long jump for the men, and the 60m, 800m, 3000m/5000m, pole vault, triple jump and shot put for the women.

Now in its 22nd year, the New Balance Indoor Grand Prix has played host to eight world records and 14 American records. Fans can follow along with USATF at #NBIGP on Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat and Facebook.




3:20 p.m.

Men's Masters Mile


3:22 p.m.

Men's High Jump


3:24 p.m.

MBTA Youth Relay


3:31 p.m.

Women's Triple Jump


3:36 p.m.

HS Girls' Sprint Medley Relay


3:46 p.m.

Girls' Junior Mile


3:55 p.m.

HS Boys' Sprint Medley Relay


4:00 p.m.


4:03 p.m.

Women's 800m


4:10 p.m.

Jesse Loubier Memorial Men's 300m

Gil Roberts*

4:15 p.m.

Women's Pole Vault

Jenn Suhr

4:18 p.m.

Boys' Junior Mile


4:34 p.m.

Women's 300m

Courtney Okolo*

4:43 p.m.

Men's 600m


4:47 p.m.

Men's Long Jump


4:51 p.m.

MBTA Women's 60m

English Gardner*

4:58 p.m.

Women's 3000m

Shannon Rowbury

5:13 p.m.

Men's 60m

Jeff Henderson*

5:19 p.m.

Men's 3000m

Paul Chelimo*, Clayton Murphy*

5:35 p.m.

New Balance Women's DMR

Team USA (Emma Coburn*, Sydney McLaughlin, Brenda Martinez, Jenny Simpson*)

5:52 p.m.

New Balance Men's Mile

Matthew Centrowitz*


* denotes Rio Olympic medalist

Amanda Brooks
Marketing and Communications Manager
USA Track & Field

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.