Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Records, world-leads highlight 44th Nike Prefontaine Classic


EUGENE, OREGON — Records and world-leads highlighted the 2018 Nike Prefontaine Classic as Ryan Crouser took home the Maria Mutola athlete of the meet award, as well as the men’s shot put title in front of 12,667 fans.

For the first time in history, four men threw beyond 21.60m/70-10.50 in one competition, indoors or out. Crouser launched a massive 22.53m/73-11 put in the fifth round to add 10 centimeters to his Hayward Field record and land seventh on the list of best U.S. throws. Crouser led the highly-competitive field from the start and fouled on his third attempt. He steadily improved before unleashing the massive meet record and season best 22.53/73-11. Poland’s Michal Haratyk launched finished second putting a new Polish national record 21.97m/72-1.

Hayward Field welcomed 2012 London Olympic gold medalist Jenn Suhr after an eight-year hiatus from the Prefontaine Classic. She won the women’s pole vault clearing the bar at 5.81m/15-11, edging out New Zealand’s Eliza McCartney who had a miss on an earlier attempt but set a national record clearing 5.81m/15-11. World Champion Sandy Morris was third after clearing 4.70m/15-5.

Battle Royale in the sand

The men’s triple jump was a battle between Olympic and World champion Christian Taylor and Olympic and world silver medalist Will Claye. The Team USATF duo were tied in first after three jumps leaping 17.24m/56-6.75. Claye improved on his next two jumps propelling himself 17.44m/57-2.75 and 17.46m/57-3.50 going into the final round. Taylor leapt 17.73m/58-2 into a negative 1.3 wind to take the lead and hold on as Claye took his sixth and final jump. Claye finished second with a season-best, wind-aided mark of 17.46m/57-3.50 (3.0).

Men’s International Mile doesn't disappoint

Team USATF’s Izaic Yorks and Fouad El Kaam of Morocco were among the leaders in the first 200. After one lap, El Kaam with the lead with the rest of the pack a stride behind. At the midway point El Kaam maintained his lead. With one lap remaining, American Drew Hunter made a move at the first turn to move up to third and run shoulder-to-shoulder with El Kaam and Yorks. Hunter took the lead with 100 left but Aussie Luke Matthews closed the gap and passed Hunter with 10 meters to go to take the win in 3:57.02 and became the 400th sub-4 miler in Prefontaine Classic history. Hunter was second in 3:57.29, and Team USATF’s Henry Wynne ran a PB in 3:57.61 for third. Twelve of thirteen competitors were under the four minute barrier with high schooler Brodey Hasty rounding out the finishers at 4:04.53. Matthews became the 400th sub-4 miler

US Road Mile champion Riley Masters was the 500th sub-4 mile finisher at Hayward Field, he finished sixth.

Qatar’s Mutaz Barshim was the winner of men's’ high jump clearing 2.36m/7-8.25 with Danil Lysenko (ANA) was second clearing 2.32/7-7.25 with China’s Yu Wang third on misses at the same height.

A star-studded field was on the track for the Michelob Ultra Women’s 400 meter hurdles. Olympic champion Dalilah Muhammad got out very well in lane four. She ran in the lead through 200 meters, when fellow American Georganne Moline gave challenge. The gold medalist appeared in control with 10 meters to go when Jeneive Russell of Jamaica snuck up after the last barrier to outlean Muhammad at the tape to take the victory in 54.06. Muhammed was second in 54.09, Moline ran a season’s best 54.33 for third.

In the fastest women’s 800m run on US soil, reigning Olympic and world champion Caster Semenya (RSA) set a Hayward Field and Prefontaine Classic record to win in 1:55.92, covering the last lap in 57.99. Team USATF’s Ajee Wilson closed quickly in the last 100 meters to take second in a season best 1:56.86.

In the Nike men’s 100 meters, Ronnie Baker’s top-end speed edged out world silver medalist Christian Coleman. Coleman got out of the blocks quickly, leading by half a stride midway through the sprint. Baker shifted into another gear crossing the line in 9.78 (+2.4) to Coleman’s 9.84.

Kenya’s Benjamin Kigan ran a personal best and world lead to win the men’s 3,000 steeplechase, crossing the line 70 meters in front in 8:09.07. The race was for second place with American Evan Jager challenging Kenya’s Olympic champion Conseslus Kipruto with 150 meters to go, but the Kenyan edged him for second in 8:11.706. Jager was third, 8:11.708.

Ivory Coast’s Marie-Josee Ta lou and Murielle Ahoure went 1-2, clocking 10.88 and 10.90, respectively, in the Progressive women’s 100 meters. American Tori Bowie crossed the line in a season best time 11.03 and Javianne Oliver ran a personal best 11.10.

In the women’s 1500 meters, American Shelby Houlihan ran down the pack and finished with a huge lifetime best 3:59.06, four seconds ahead of her previous best mark. Team USATF’s Jenny Simpson led through three and a half laps, but fell to third finishing in 3:59.57, just behind Great Britain Laura Muir’s 3:59.30.

Jamaica’s Omar McLeod won his second consecutive Diamond League race, leading from the start to finish in a windy 13.01 (3.0). Sergey Shubenkov (ANA) was second in 13.08 and American Devon Allen took third in 13.13.

The women’s 5,000m was no surprise with Geneze Dibaba winning in world-leading 14:26.89.

World champion Phyllis Francis and Jamaica’s Shaunae Miller-Uibo led a stellar field in the women’s 400 meters. All were even from the start but Miller-Uibo took lead at the final curve to run a world lead and win 49.52. Francis was second in 50.81 and teammate Shakima Wimbley third in 50.84

The Nike men’s 200 lived up to the hype with young American Noah Lyles blazing around the curve to run a world-leading and personal best mark of 19.69 (2.0). The mark also is a Prefontaine Classic record. Trinidad and Tobago’s Jareem Richards was second in 20.05 with Canada’s Aaron Brown finishing third in a season’s best 20.07.

The much-anticipated men’s Bowerman Mile saw 11 men finish under four minutes. Timothy Cheruiyot took the lead on the second lap and ran away in the final 150 when the pack spread out finishing with the win in 3:49.87. The top Americans were Olympic bronze medalist Clayton Murphy in fifth and Olympic champion Matthew Centrowitz in sixth.

For full results go here.

The USATF outdoor season wraps up in Des Moines, Iowa June 21-24 at the USATF Outdoor Championships. Tickets can be purchased here.

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.