Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Record Setting Performance Earns Hadley Athlete of the Week

INDIANAPOLIS -- Seventeen-year-old Alana Hadley is USATF Athlete of the Week after her record-breaking win at the Monumental Marathon on Nov. 1 in Indianapolis.
Hadley (Charlotte, North Carolina) set a course record of 2:38:33, which beat the previous record of 2:39:22 set by Olympian Colleen De Reuck in 2013. Hadley ran a slightly negative split in tough conditions on Saturday which included 20 mph winds and rain.
“The race, while in less than desirable conditions, was great,” said Hadley. “I felt really strong the whole way. I ended up having a good group of people to run with until around 20 miles. I was by myself the rest of the way, so I really had to stay focused.”
Through the marathon, Hadley was also able to do a fundraiser for a local charity. She chose the Autism Society of Indiana because her younger sister, Rose, and her cousin, Ben, both have autism. Hadley also donated a portion of her course record bonus to the charity. The race organizers will match her donation.
“I was very happy about partnering up with the Autism Society of Indiana as I have always wanted to use my running as a platform in which to spread autism awareness,” Hadley said of the fundraiser. “It is a cause I am extremely passionate about.”
Other notable performances this week included:
  • Tatyana McFadden (Clarksville, Maryland) won the New York City Marathon women’s wheelchair division in 1:42:16, giving her a second straight marathon grand slam.
  • Meb Keflezighi (San Diego, California) finished fourth overall at the New York City Marathon on Nov. 2 with his time of 2:13:18.
  • Desiree Linden (Rochester, Michigan) was the fifth woman to finish the New York City Marathon on Nov. 2 with her time of 2:28:11.
  • Malachy Schrobilgen (Oak Park, Illinois) won the Big 10 men's title for the second year in a row. He led Wisconsin to its 47th Big Ten Men’s Cross Country Championship on Sunday.
  • Emily Harrison (Flagstaff, Arizona) finished in 3:32:30 to win the 2014 IAU 50K World Championships in Doha, Qatar.
Now in its 13th year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.
2014 Winners: January 15, Chris Derrick; January 22, Galen Rupp; January 29, Galen Rupp; February 5, Alexa Efraimson; February 12, Mike Rutt; February 19, Bernard Lagat; February 26,Sharon Day-Monroe; March 3, David Torrence; March 13, Francena McCorory; March 19,Irene Obera; March 26, Duane Solomon; April 2, Maria Michta; April 7, Noah Lyles; April 14,Kendell Williams; April 21, Meb Keflezighi; April 28, Kristi Castlin; May 7, Maria Michta; May 14, Erik Kynard; May 21, Emma Coburn; May 28, Brenda Martinez; June 2, Galen Rupp; June 9, Tori Bowie; June 16, Trayvon Bromell; June 23, Charles Austin; June 30, Devon Allen; July 7, Kaylin Whitney; July 14, Emma Coburn; July 21, Florence Meiler; July 28, Kaylin Whitney; August 4, Ed Burke; August 11, Cierra White; August 21, Gwen Berry; August 27, Myles Marshall; September 3, Gia Lewis Smallwood; September 10, Justin Gatlin; September 17,Dawn Harper-Nelson; September 24, Deena Kastor; October 1, Shalane Flanagan; October 8,Tyler Pennel; October 15, Tatyana McFadden; October 22, Patrick Smyth; October 29, Larisa Dannis; November 4, Alana Hadley.
USA Track & Field is the National Governing Body for track and field, long-distance running and race walking in the United States. USATF encompasses the world's oldest organized sports, some of the most-watched events of Olympic broadcasts, the country’s No. 1 high school and junior high school participatory sport and more than 30 million adult runners in the United States. For more information on USATF, visit

Amber Brooks
Internet Publishing Coordinator
USA Track & Field

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.