Join/Renew Now

Latest news

President's Awards Handed Out at Opening Session

INDIANAPOLIS - Stephanie Hightower, USA Track and Field President/Chairman of the Board, presented the Annual President’s Awards as part of the Opening General Session at the 2013 USATF Annual Meeting Thursday.

Award recipients included Dave Dunham, Len Krsak, Marian Lein, Justin Kuo, Kathy Nary, Laurie Boemker, Delores Murray and Dr. Bob Adams.


Dave Dunham, a founding member of the USATF Mountain, Ultra & Trail (MUT) Running Council and founded the New England Mountain Running Circuit, was a staff member of the US Mountain Running Team from 1992 to 2009. Dunham was the Chairperson for USATF New England Mountain, Ultra & Trail Running from 1995 to 2002 and has served as the race director for many trail and snowshoe races, including the annual Merrimack River Trail Race, from 1992 to present day.

Len Krsak has worked in many aspects of USATF over the last 20+ years and has contributed time and energy to the sport of track and field. Krsak serves as the Officials Certification Chair for the Ohio Association and is the officials coordinator for many universities and colleges in the area. Locally he is a supporter of the OHSAA and serves as secretary to his local club in Westerville, Ohio. Nationally, he has served as the Secretary of the USATF Officials Committee and is the current Committee chair.

Marian Lein has been the administrator of the Phidippides Award since its inception five years ago. Lein has established a procedure where previously unheralded athletes earn the award and are highlighted with national media coverage. She also has established a five-year award for those who have qualified every year. She has also been a partner in the effort to develop a series of recognitions for outstanding athletic accomplishments by Masters athletes. This effort involves reviewing over 10,000 races per year & manually extracting performances for inclusion in a database.

Justin Kuo has been a volunteer for USATF for many years in several different states and areas. Kuo has been a national certifier for courses in numerous states while also serving as the vice chair of the Road Running Technical Committee, co-chair for Records with Race Walking for USATF and is involved as an official for several National Race Walking events. He has been involved with the Boston Marathon and was one of the first people to help several of the injured runners and spectators at last year’s tragedy.

Kathy Nary has been with the Women's LDR Executive Committee since 1996 and served as the Vice Chair in 2013. She has been instrumental in taking care of the selection of international teams and staffs for over a decade and works tirelessly to support USATF and its athletes. Nary has been involved in many USATF NE positions as well as actively involved with USADA enforcing drug testing policies at several national championships.

Laurie Boemker’s officiating career dates back to 2004. She has been a TAC/USATF official since 1983, an NCAA official since 1983 and a high school official since 1980. She was the starter for the 2008 Olympic Women’s Marathon Trials, is chair of IAAF NTO Subcommittee and is certification chair for New England. She was a member of the 1971 U.S. Pan American team and is a USATF Athlete Alumni Association Member.

Dr. Bob Adams has given many hours, days and years to the sport, especially to providing world-class sports medicine and science services to our Team USA athletes, most recently at the London Olympic Games. He’s been on countless staffs and chaired the sports science and medicine committee. He is the recipient of the 2011 Dr. C. Harmon Brown Award and has served on the IAAF Medical and Anti-Doping Commission.

Delores Murray has been an NTO since 2003 with USATF officiating experience dating back to 1997. Her NCAA and high school officiating dates back to 1990 and she is currently the chairperson for the USATF Appeals Subcommittee and the Southwestern Association Race Walk. She has been the meet director for seven conference championships, including the 2013 Southland Conference Outdoor Championships.

The President’s Awards are given on an annual basis to the people who have worked diligently and admirably in USATF volunteer ranks, within their associations or committees. Recognition can be specific to a given year but often are for the body of work of an individual’s contributions. The USATF President gives these awards.

Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2018 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.