Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Oliver headlines Shanghai Diamond League

The race between American David Oliver and Shanghai native Liu Xiang is the most eagerly awaited feature of tomorrow’s Dunlop Shanghai Golden Grand Prix, which serves as the second stop of the 2011 Samsung Diamond League.

The Diamond League encompasses 32 individual event disciplines, with a points scoring 'Diamond Race' which runs throughout the 14 meeting series. In the inaugural season, Americans won 11 of the 32 Diamond Races. Winners of each Diamond Race will get a Diamond Trophy and a cash prize. For more details on the league, click here.

Live web coverage starts at 8:00 a.m. ET on, with TV coverage at 5:00 p.m. ET on Universal Sports.

Oliver said he was expecting Liu Xiang to run around 13 seconds flat; Liu, for his part, said he was not expecting to run that fast, but would merely try to keep up with the man whose victory in Daegu on Thursday was his 18th straight unbeaten outdoor performance, dating back to the last race of the 2009 season.

Should either of the big names fail to deliver, however, American Ryan Wilson will be waiting to take advantage.

Carmelita Jeter will face still competition from Jamaica’s Veronica Campbell-Brown in the women’s 100m. Jeter currently has the fastest time in the world with her 10.86 win in Kingston, Jamaica. Campbell-brown has run a wind-aided 22.37 for 200m this year, but does not yet have a time listed in the 100m.

The women’s 400m Hurdles offers another compelling head-to-head as American Lashinda Demus, the double World 400m hurdles silver medalist, faces Jamaica’s Kaliese Spenser who dipped under 54 seconds twice as many times as the American last year.

Demus ran the world’s fastest time last year, 52.82, and has happy memories of this track, where she won last year’s Samsung Diamond League race in a meet record of 53.34 which could well be in jeopardy tomorrow . Spencer also enters with confidence high, having clocked times under 54 seconds on six occasions last year.

Olympic champion Dwight Phillips will attempt to earn revenge for his Long Jump defeat here last year by Australia’s Fabrice Lapierre.

Greg Nixon, David Neville and Calvin Smith will look for a U.S. sweep in the men’s 400m. The trio enters with the three fastest PR’s of the field; however, they will have to face Yuzo Kanemaru of Japan, who enters with the fastest time of the season in 45.23.

Full Start lists are available here

From IAAF Staff Reports

Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2018 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.