Join/Renew Now

Latest news

News and Notes, Volume 13, Number 12

1. Team USA Wins Gold at World 24-Hour Championships
2. Growing list of athletes eligible for .US National Championships

Team USA Wins Gold at World 24-Hour Championships
Jon Olsen
won the World 24-Hour Championships to lead Team USA to win gold in both the men’s and women’s races on Sunday in Steenbergen, Netherlands.

Olsen (Modesto, Calif.) logged 167.568 miles to take the top spot over John Dennis (Takoma Park, M.D.) by more than four miles. Team USA locked up the team competition with 485.012 miles over runner-up Japan’s 467.623 miles.

Sabrina Little (Waco, Texas) ran an American Record of 152.030 miles to finish second behind Mami Kudo of Japan who ran 156.712 miles. Susanna Bon (Sanoma, Calif.) also made her way onto the podium with a third-place finish of 146.785 miles. Traci Falbo (Charlestown, In.) logged 142.730 miles to finish fourth. Team USA recorded 441.545 miles to win gold by only 3 miles over Japan.

Growing list of athletes eligible for .US National Championships
To qualify for this November’s .US National Road Racing Championships, runners must finish in the top ten at any of the USA Running Circuit (USARC) events. $100,000 in prize money will be awarded, with $20,000 going to the men’s and women’s champions of the .US National Road Racing Championships.

Below is a list of the athletes currently eligible to compete at the season-ending event after Saturday’s USA 25 Mile Road Championships:

AJ Acosta
Miles Batty
Joseph Boit
Liam Boylan-Pett
Donn Cabral
Andrew Carlson
Craig Curley
Bobby Curtis
Chris Derrick
Tony Fillipek
Brian Gagnon
Elliot Heath
Garrett Heath
Zachary Hine
Christo Landry
Bobby Mack
Travis Mahoney
Leo Manzano
Richard Medina
Craig Miller
Joe Moore
Tyler Pennel
Luke Puskedra
Sean Quigley
Michael Reneau
Tim Ritchie
Dathan Ritzenhein
Ben Sathre
Jeff See
James Strang
Matt Tegenkamp
Mo Trafeh
Ben True
Ryan Vail
Ladia Albertson Junkas
Gabriele Anderson
Janet Bawcom
Sarah Brown
Stephanie Bruce
Heather Cappello
Jamie Cheever
Kim Conley
Sarah Crouch
Katie DiCamillo
Delilah Dicrescenzo
Shalane Flanagan
Kate Grace
Clara Grandt
Sara Hall
Emily Infeld
Lauren Jimison
Kellyn Johnson
Heather Kampf
Deena Kastor
Katie McGregor
Alissa McKaig
Dot McMahan
Ashley Miller
Tera Moody
Brianne Nelson
Stephanie Pezzullo
Chelsea Reilly
Jenn Rhines
Shannon Rowbury
Alice Schmidt
Neely Spence
Mattie Suver
Theresa Taggart
Wendy Thomas
Renee Tomlin
Melissa White
Alisha Williams

To be eligible to compete in the .US National Road Racing Championships, athletes must compete in a qualifying road race and finish in the top 10 of the USARC standings. The remaining qualifying road races are the USA Half Marathon Championships (June 22), USA 10 km Championship (July 4), USA 20 km Championships (September 2), USA 5 km Championships (September 22) and USA Marathon Championship (October 6).

For more information on the .US National Road Racing Championships, visit

Follow the .US National Road Racing Championships on Twitter: @dotUSchamps and Facebook:

Nike Hershey Garden of Life Chobani UCS Gatorade NCSA Phoenix KT St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2018 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.