Join/Renew Now

Latest news

McFadden named USATF Athlete of the Week

INDIANAPOLIS -- Eleven-time Olympic medalist Tatyana McFadden is USATF’s Athlete of the Week after winning her fourth consecutive Chicago Marathon crown and her seventh consecutive marathon title overall.
McFadden (Clarksville, Maryland) finished the Bank of America Chicago Marathon in 1:44:50, 22 seconds ahead of her next closest competitor, Manuela Schar of Switzerland, who finished in 1:45:12. After Schar, the other top-10 finishers ranged from a minute to 38 minutes after McFadden’s finish.
“I’ve had such an incredible year and I think for most of us, as an elite athlete, we’re just here to push our sport,” said McFadden. “I just want to see how many marathons I can run in a year. I’m always thinking of how to get faster and stronger; hope for the best and give 100%...I’ve had such a great year.”
Already claiming three of four titles in 2014, McFadden is well on her way to her second marathon grand slam. She will compete in the New York Marathon on November 2.
Now in its 13th year, USATF’s Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.
2014 Winners: January 15, Chris Derrick; January 22, Galen Rupp; January 29, Galen Rupp; February 5, Alexa Efraimson; February 12, Mike Rutt; February 19, Bernard Lagat; February 26, Sharon Day-Monroe; March 3, David Torrence; March 13, Francena McCorory; March 19, Irene Obera; March 26, Duane Solomon; April 2, Maria Michta; April 7, Noah Lyles; April 14, Kendell Williams; April 21, Meb Keflezighi; April 28, Kristi Castlin; May 7, Maria Michta; May 14, Erik Kynard; May 21, Emma Coburn; May 28, Brenda Martinez; June 2, Galen Rupp; June 9, Tori Bowie; June 16, Trayvon Bromell; June 23, Charles Austin; June 30, Devon Allen; July 7, Kaylin Whitney; July 14, Emma Coburn; July 21, Florence Meiler; July 28, Kaylin Whitney; August 4, Ed Burke; August 11, Cierra White; August 21, Gwen Berry; August 27, Myles Marshall; September 3, Gia Lewis Smallwood; September 10, Justin Gatlin; September 17, Dawn Harper-Nelson; September 24, Deena Kastor; October 1, Shalane Flanagan; October 8, Tyler Pennel; October 15, Tatyana McFadden.
USA Track & Field is the National Governing Body for track and field, long-distance running and race walking in the United States. USATF encompasses the world's oldest organized sports, some of the most-watched events of Olympic broadcasts, the country’s No. 1 high school and junior high school participatory sport and more than 30 million adult runners in the United States. For more information on USATF, visit
Amber Brooks
Internet Publishing Coordinator

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.