Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Incredible Lyles sets new world lead, multiple Drake Stadium records broken at USATF Outdoor Championships


DES MOINES, Iowa -- Twenty-year-old Noah Lyles became the youngest man in 34 years to win the Nike Men’s 100 meters, setting two stadium records and two world leads on day two of action at the USATF Outdoor Championships at Drake Stadium.

Fans can watch a replay on NBC Sports Gold and click here for complete results.

Lyles (Clermont, Florida) shifted into another gear with two meters remaining in the Nike Men’s 100m final to catch Ronnie Baker (Fort Worth, Texas) at the line and take home his first USATF title. Lyles ran a world-leading 9.88, erasing his 100-minute-old mark of 9.89 set in the semifinals. Baker got out fast in the final and held strong through 90 meters before Lyles usurped the lead. Lyles became the youngest 100m champion in 34 years since Sam Graddy won at 20 years, 3 months, 30 days compared to Noah’s 20 years, 11 months and 4 days.

Collegians dominate Michelob ULTRA Women’s 100m

The Michelob ULTRA Women’s 100m saw the top three finishers crossing in sub-11 form. Aleia Hobbs (Baton Rouge, Louisiana) from LSU blasted out of the blocks and crossed in 10.91, the second-fastest time by an American this year. Ashley Henderson (San Diego, California) from San Diego State crossed second in 10.96 and Jenna Prandini (Clovis, California) third in 10.98. Five of the eight finalists were collegiate athletes, a testament to the strong programs across the country.

Ziemek sets new decathlon facility record

In the highest scoring decathlon in Drake Stadium history, Olympian Zach Ziemek (Itasca, Illinois) won the men’s decathlon with 8,294 points. Ziemek also set a facility record in today’s decathlon pole vault competition, vaulting 5.35m/17.65. Michigan State’s Tim Ehrhardt (Addison, Illinois) set the same mark, but was second in the event on misses. Ziemek picked up valuable points in the throws on day two with a personal best discus throw of 50.90m/167-0 and a season best toss of 56.54m/185-6 on his last attempt in the javelin. Double Z’s points total slipped past Ashton Eaton’s stadium record by three points.

Winkler comes from fifth to win national hammer throw title

2016 Olympian Rudy Winkler (Sand Lake, New York) claimed his second national title in the men’s hammer throw with a heave of 73.76m/242-0. His third round effort moved him from fifth place to secure the lead for the remainder of competition. In a close field, Alex Young (Nashville, Tennessee) picked up a silver medal with a fifth attempt throw of 73.22m/240-3.

Race walk’s Michta-Coffey shatters Drake Stadium record

Race walk superstar Maria Michta-Coffey (Stony Brook, New York) got out to a 30-meter lead in the women’s 20K race walk and then lapped the field on lap five en route to her 42nd USATF national title. The “walking scientist” who holds a Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences hit 10K in 46:02.93. Never slowing down, she set a new Drake Stadium record by more than two minutes in 1:35:21.59. While Katie Burnett (El Cajon, California) pushed to close the gap, she was unable to catch the faraway leader and took home second in 1:37:55.97.

First rounds and semis ratchet up excitement for finals

World record holder Kendra Harrison (Lexington, Kentucky) led all competitors in the women’s 100m hurdles with her time of 12.46 to advance to tomorrow’s semifinal. 2008 Olympic gold medalist and 2017 World bronze medalist Dawn Harper-Nelson (East St. Louis, Illinois) also advanced in her farewell tour. Sharika Nelvis (Memphis, Tennessee) and Kori Carter (Claremont, California) also won their heats, crossing in 12.81 and 12.78, respectively.

Michael Cherry (Chesapeake, Virginia) had the fastest performance in the men’s 400m semis with 44.87, setting up a sure-to-be exciting final. Three athletes were disqualified for lane violations in the first heat.

2016 Olympic silver medalist, Evan Jager (Algonquin, Illinois) ran smoothly to the finish in the men’s 3,000m steeplechase first round, winning his heat in 8:31.79. Jager is in the hunt for his seventh national title; Henry Marsh is the only steeplechaser to win seven straight U.S. championships, accomplishing that feat from 1981-87. Isaac Updike (Ketchikan, Alaska) won the first heat in 8:25.82.

Competition begins again Saturday at 10:00 a.m. CT with multis action as the women’s heptathlon kicks off. Click here for a full competition schedule and here for live results.

Fans can watch live starting at 10:00 a.m. CT on NBC Sports Gold, followed by live coverage from 3:00 - 5:00 p.m. CT on NBC. Thursday video highlights can be viewed here on USATF.TV+.

The USATF Outdoor Championships are part of the 2018 Team USA Summer Champions Series, presented by Xfinity. The champions series showcases numerous Olympic sports throughout the season, highlighting the year-round quest of Team USA athletes to compete at the Olympic Games.

Quotes from national champions can be found via video on USATF’s Instagram page. Fans are encouraged to join the conversation on social media with #USATFoutdoors on Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat and Facebook.


USATF Communications

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.