Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Grant Holloway breaks 40-year-old collegiate record as Texas Tech wins 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Outdoor Track and Field Championships


AUSTIN, Texas -- The 2019 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships made a home of the University of Texas at Mike A. Myers Track and Soccer Stadium. The competition finished on Saturday, June 8, in record-breaking fashion.


The men’s championship final began its competition on Wednesday, June 5. In one of the first field event finals, three men of Mississippi State made history in the javelin. Sophomore Anderson Peters defended his national title and led his teammates to the first javelin podium sweep since Oregon men in 1964. The trio, Curtis Thompson, Tyriq Horsford and Peters are the 11th sweep in any podium event in NCAA history.


Peters’s national championship effort is a new personal best of 86.62m (284-2), school, meet and Grenadian national record.

Florida’s Grant Holloway and Kentucky’s Daniel Roberts went head to head in the men’s 100mH. In the prelims Roberts ran 13.06 for the fastest qualifying time and new collegiate leader. In the final, the race came down to the wire, with Holloway taking the title in 12.98. Holloway broke Renaldo Nehemiah’s 40-year-old NCAA record of 13.00 set in 1979. Roberts tied Nehemiah’s record with his second-place finish. Both athletes announced they are turning professional after the completion of the championships.


JuVaughn Harrison of LSU made history in the long jump and high jump, as he became the first man to win both events at the same NCAA championship. He won the long jump with a new personal best of 8.20m (26-11) on Wednesday night. He then jumped 2.27m (7-5 ¼) in the high jump Friday night for the title.


The first running event final, the 10,000m, was the last contested Wednesday. The men of BYU placed first, third and fourth in the event. Senior, Clayton Young won the event for the Cougars with a strong last lap crossing the finish in 29:16.60. Young is the first BYU men’s outdoor champion since Kyle Perry won the steeplechase in 2009.


On the final day of the men’s competition, Florida became the first college team to run under 38-seconds in the 4x100m relay. The Gators ran 37.97 for a new NCAA, SEC, meet and facility record. The Florida State Seminoles are now the second fastest collegiate relay of all-time while also breaking the ACC and school record with a close finish in 38.08.


In a tactical race, Morgan McDonald of the Wisconsin remained undefeated this year throughout all three NCAA championships with his win in the 5,000m. The senior finished in 14:06.01 just beating the University of Stanford’s Grant Fisher. McDonald’s win in the 5,000m is his fourth NCAA championship this year.


For the first time in meet history, three men ran under 10.00 in the 100m: Divine Oduduru, Cravon Gillespie of Oregon and Hakim Sani Brown of Florida.


Oduduru led Texas Tech to their first national championship in school history. The junior was dominant over the field in the 100m and 200m. In the 100m, Oduduru ran the second-fastest collegiate 100m time ever, behind Christian Coleman, in 9.86. His time currently ties Coleman and Noah Lyles for the world lead in the event. In the 200m, Oduduru broke the meet and facility record, crossing the finish in 19.73.


Texas Tech solidified the team championship with Eric Kicinski’s win in the men’s discus with a throw of 62.53 (205-2). The Raiders scored 60 points for first, while Florida placed second with 50-points and the University of Houston placed third with 40 points.

Click here for full results.

Denise Spann

USATF Communications Intern

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.