Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Fan voting open for Athletes of the Year on USATF Zone


INDIANAPOLIS -- Track and field fans have the opportunity to help select USATF’s 2016 Jesse Owens and Jackie Joyner-Kersee winners and the 2016 USATF Youth Athlete of the Year through online voting.

Fans can visit USATF Zone to vote for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year, Jackie Joyner-Kersee Female Athlete of the Year and the USATF Youth Athlete of the Year. Sign up for USATF Zone now to vote, earn wings for the Reward Store and engage with track & field fans around the globe. Fan voting concludes on Friday, October 14 at 11:59 p.m. ET. This year’s awards will be presented December 3 at the Jesse Owens Awards Ceremony, held in conjunction with USATF’s 2016 Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida.

Honoring the country’s top male and female track and field athletes, the Jesse Owens and Jackie Joyner-Kersee Award winners are selected by a vote of the media in combination with online fan balloting, with media votes weighing 90 percent of the vote and fan voting 10 percent. Established in 1981, the Jesse Owens and Jackie Joyner-Kersee Awards are USATF's highest accolade, presented annually to the outstanding U.S. male and female track & field performers.

Nine stars on the rise are nominated for USATF Youth Athlete of the Year. With over 15 records and 16 medals between them, this year’s group of nominees gave inspiring performances at the National Junior Olympic Track & Field Championships, USATF Juniors, USATF Indoors, the U.S. Olympic Trials and on the international stage at the IAAF World U-20 Championships, IAAF World Indoor Championships and the Rio Olympic Games.

Join the conversation with USATF on Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat and Facebook using the hashtag #USATFAOY.

Amanda Brooks
Marketing and Communications Manager
USA Track & Field

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.