Join/Renew Now

Latest news

Eight Rio medalists highlight USATF contingent at IAAF Diamond League meeting in Shanghai


SHANGHAI, China -- Rio relay gold medalists Morolake Akinosun, Tianna Bartoletta, Tori Bowie and Natasha Hastings, along with Olympic champions Kerron Clement (400mH) and Jeff Henderson (long jump) headline the second meeting of the IAAF Diamond League in Shanghai on Saturday, May 13. Fans can watch live on NBC Sports Gold at 5:45 a.m. ET Saturday with full coverage airing on Saturday, May 13 at 7:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN.


In total, eight Rio medalists will compete in Shanghai, including LaShawn Merritt, who is the reigning Diamond League champion in the 400m, and pole vault bronze medalist Sam Kendricks. 2012 Olympic high jump silver medalist Erik Kynard also holds a 2016 Diamond League trophy in his event, and he, Clement and Merritt have wild cards into the IAAF World Championships this August. Bartoletta also has a World Championships wild card for the women’s long jump as the defending World champion.


The Diamond League format has changed for the 2017 season. Athletes will compete throughout the year in a bid to qualify for one of the IAAF Diamond League Finals. In each of the Diamond Disciplines, athletes will earn points in either four or six qualifying meets. The top eight or twelve athletes at the end of the qualifying meets will have earned their place in the IAAF Diamond League Final, in either Z├╝rich or Brussels.


In the jumps, throws and long distance disciplines, athletes will have the chance to pick up points in four qualifying meets, while in all other disciplines, there will be six chances to pick up points.

At any one qualifying meeting, an athlete can pick up between eight and one point, depending on where they finish on the night. Once the last qualifying meeting has taken place, the top eight or twelve athletes in the overall standings move on to the Final.


Fans can follow along with #USATF at #ShanghaiDL on Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat and Facebook.


Local Time

Eastern Time


USATF Athletes Competing

5:45 PM

5:45 AM

Shot Put Women

Daniella Bunch, Felisha Johnson, Brittany Smith

6:35 PM

6:35 AM

High Jump Men

Erik Kynard

6:45 PM

6:45 AM

Pole Vault Men

Sam Kendricks

7:03 PM

7:03 AM

400m Hurdles Men

Kerron Clement, Bershawn Jackson

7:10 PM

7:10 AM

1500m Women

Katie Mackey, Cory McGee

7:24 PM

7:24 AM

100m Men

Jarrion Lawson, Mike Rodgers, Isiah Young

7:27 PM

7:27 AM

Long Jump Men

Marquis Dendy, Jeff Henderson, Jarrion Lawson

7:34 PM

7:34 AM

400m Women

Natasha Hastings

7:42 PM

7:42 AM

800m Men

Casimir Loxsom

7:51 PM

7:51 AM

3000m SC Women

Stephanie Garcia, Katie Landwehr, Sarah Pease

8:11 PM

8:11 AM

100m Women

Morolake Akinosun, Tianna Bartoletta, Tori Bowie

8:20 PM

8:20 AM

200m Men

Noah Lyles, LaShawn Merritt, Wallace Spearmon, Ameer Webb

8:53 PM

8:53 AM

110m Hurdles Men

Aries Merritt, David Oliver, Jeff Porter


Amanda Brooks
Marketing and Communications Manager
USA Track & Field

Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.