Join/Renew Now

Latest news

1968 Olympic team, the year’s best athletes and performances honored at USATF Night of Legends Gala


COLUMBUS -- 1968 U.S. Olympic Track & Field team members were honored along with the 2018 top athletes, performances and Hall of Fame inductees at the USATF Night of Legends Gala as part of USATF Annual Meeting Saturday night in Columbus, Ohio.

A broadcast of USATF Night of Legends will air on NBCSN on Saturday, December 15 at 11 p.m. ET.

Centered around the 50th anniversary of the 1968 Olympic Games, twenty-four 1968 Olympians were in attendance for the red carpet affair including Madeline Mims, Dr. John Carlos, Tommie Smith, Wyomia Tyus, Dick Fosbury, Jim Ryun, Ralph Boston, Larry Young and more.

National Track & Field Hall of Fame: Class of 2018 inductees Bob Hersh (Contributor), Kathy Hammond (Veteran Athlete) and Dwight Phillips (Modern Athlete) accepted their Hall of Fame rings with heartfelt looks back on phenomenal careers in athletics.

Hosted by Sanya Richards-Ross and Todd Harris, the red carpet evening featured appearances by Hollywood director Malcolm D. Lee, current Olympic stars Michelle Carter, Kori Carter, Erik Kynard and more.

USATF Masters Athlete of the Year Charles Allie (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) accepted his award from Masters Track & Field Chair Rex Harvey and 1968 Olympic gold medalist Jim Hines, while USATF Youth Athlete of the Year awardee Taylor Ewert (Beavercreek, Ohio) received her award from the NXN Nike Cross Nationals.

Caryl Smith Gilbert accepted the Nike Coach of the Year Award following a tremendous season as the USC Track & Field head coach.

Shelby Houlihan (Sioux City, Iowa) won both the Jackie Joyner-Kersee Female Athlete of the Year and the Best Championship Track Performance Wing Award. The two awards were a fitting end for a year in which Houlihan was a double USATF Champion both indoors and outdoors.

The Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year was given to Noah Lyles (Clermont, Florida) who claimed the USATF Outdoor 100m title, went undefeated in the 200m en route to winning the Diamond League title and became just the second man in history (along with Usain Bolt) to record four sub-19.70 clockings in one year.

Wing Awards given to fan favorites

The Wing Awards were also handed out Saturday evening. Athletes were nominated in three categories for their outstanding 2018 performances, including Best Championship Track Performance, Best Championship Field Performance, and Best Road Racing Performance.

2018 Best Championship Track Performance

Shelby Houlihan - Women's 1500m and 3000m champion, USATF Outdoors

2018 Best Championship Field Performance

Deanna Price - Women's weight throw champion and American record, USATF Outdoors

2018 Best Road Race Performance

Des Linden - Boston Marathon winner, first American woman since 1985

The 2018 USATF Annual Meeting continues through Sunday in Columbus.

Follow along on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.


Nike Toyota Hershey Garden of Life UCS Gatorade NCSA KT Nationwide St. Vincent Normatec
© 2001-2019 USA Track & Field, Inc. All Rights Reserved.